Strawberry-Rosemary Jam

jam2008.2A friend and I went strawberry picking this weekend, so Sunday arrived and I had to make jam…or expensive compost. I had planned to make freezer jam, as I’m feeling a bit lazy about the whole canning thing, but when I saw that freezer jam requires twice as much sugar as fruit, I was a little put off.

Then I discovered Harriet Fasenfest and Marge Braker’s Portland Preserve web site and their Small Batch Strawberry Jam. It’s a brilliant and simple recipe: 3 c. sliced strawberries, 1c. sugar, 2Tbl. lemon juice. You cook it in a skillet, and it makes about a pint. I put it up in half-pint jars, which hopefully won’t dry out before we eat them. I also followed their directions for inverting the sterilized jars, which will hopefully keep without refrigeration.

This recipe and method is perfect for me. We don’t eat a lot of jam, so I was perfectly happy to come away with five half-pints from the half-flat of berries I’d picked. And that was actually three different batches, so I got to play with the recipe some. The process felt manageable, too; I’d been dreading hours spent over the stove, five pounds of sugar used, and enough plain old strawberry to last us three years. This recipe is so do-able, I could see doing a batch from a quart of strawberries as the whim takes me during strawberry season, without feeling the need to mark off an entire weekend to pick, clean, cook, and can jam. Brilliant! Thanks, Harriet and Marge!

The first batch was straight strawberry. The second had candied, dried, and grated fresh ginger. The third batch – and I have no idea where this idea come from – had fresh rosemary (about 10 leaves) and sage (2 leaves) shredded and added in the last 3 minutes of cooking. Sample tastes suggest it’s going to be a fabulous flavor combination, especially with slow-risen wheat/rye bread.

And if you’re counting, this is local except for the lemon juice (actually, lime juice in my case) and ginger, because Pioneer and Penninsular beet sugars are grown and produced in Michigan’s thumb area. Strawberries were from Rowe’s U-Pick farm, and herbs came from the deck.

5 Comments

  1. TeacherPatti said,

    June 16, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Hey Emily! Off topic, but I really liked the article that you wrote for the Sierra Club newsletter. Your picture looks so familiar…I am sure that I have passed you hundreds of times at the Farmers’ Market :)

  2. Derrick said,

    June 17, 2008 at 10:01 am

    That sounds delicious!

    I’ll have to see if I can talk my wife into getting a bunch of strawberries next time we hit the farmer’s market ;)

  3. Emily said,

    June 17, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Patti – Half the people I meet think I look just like someone they know. :) I guess I have one of those faces…on the other hand, maybe we have met and don’t know it!

    Derrick – Shouldn’t be much of a hard sell…this recipe is so easy, and you really can make just a little of it! Let me know how it turns out!

  4. March 30, 2009 at 9:01 am

    [...] the strawberries are ready to be picked, consider this strawberry and rosemary jam recipe (scroll down to the bottom to see how she tweaked the recipe to include rosemary). If you want [...]

  5. April 4, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    [...] the strawberries are ready to be picked, consider this strawberry and rosemary jam reciperosemary into a topiary. (scroll down to the bottom to see how she tweaked the recipe to include [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

