What to do with tomatillos?

I suppose it should come as no surprise to me that the tomatillos are loving this hot, dry weather. I got five or six plants for free the day the “parking lot nursery” was closing for the season. They were about 18″ tall, with potbound, dried-out root balls when I bought them. Most of the plants have put on six inches or so on every branch and are just loaded with blossoms and fruit.

I picked about 3/4 lb of them this afternoon and immediately thought…now what? I’d picked up the plants partly because they were free, partly because I knew they’d do well if the summer turned hot and dry, and partly because I love me some salsa verde. So salsa verde it is!

Holy cow. This stuff was so easy, and so yummy, I think tomatillos will show up in my “dryland garden” from now on. And they probably will; they tend to re-seed themselves, I hear.

Nearly Instant Salsa Verde Recipe

  • 3/4 lb (about a pint) tomatillos, husks removed and fruit washed*
  • 2 large cloves fresh garlic
  • 1 Tbl fresh onion (or 2 pearl onions)
  • 1 fresh green cayenne pepper, stem removed (or other hot green pepper to your taste)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbl lime juice

Put everything in a blender and whoosh 30-40 seconds until it’s well-minced. It will be somewhat watery – ok for a salsa, and excellent for enchiladas or tamales.

* How do you know a tomatillo is ready to eat? It will still be rather green, and won’t quite fill its husk. Don’t let them ripen fully (yellow fruit completely filling the husk) or they’ll be too bland.

4 Comments

  1. Leasmom said,

    August 23, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    That recipes sounds delish.

  2. TeacherPatti said,

    August 24, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    OMG–that was the best recipe! Is there any way that I can can this? This was just awesome! Thanks SO much :)

  3. Emily said,

    August 24, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Patty- I don’t know about canning it. The canning recipes I have for salsa verde use a whole lot of vinegar; but then, they also use a lot more tomatillos, too. Personally, I wouldn’t trust it in a water-bath canner; I’d find an “approved” recipe online.

  4. November 11, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    [...] leftovers ) and sort of “winging it” with the recipe. Using an amalgamation of these two [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 251 other followers

