NaLoFooMo

You may have heard of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) wherein participants seek to write an entire 50,000 word novel during the month of November. Offshoots include NaSoAlMo (National Solo Album Month) and others.

This year, with so many folks around me engaging in some sort of creative endeavor, I decided to spend a month devoting time to a passion of mine: local foods. Thus, National Local Food Month, or NaLoFooMo.

I know, I know: the Eat Local Challenge happens every year…why not just join that? Well, for one thing, I was swamped in September and I’m not now. But really, this challenge has another purpose. I often cook meals with mostly local ingredients, so there’s not much of a challenge there. Instead, I envision NaLoFooMo as research and writing, not just cooking, because my passion comes not from just making local food, but enabling others to do so, as well.

And so I inaugurate my new blog! Welcome to “Eat Close to Home.”

For those curious about my self-imposed rules for NaLoFooMo, this year, they are:

  • Write or adapt and test 10 new recipes using 95% locally-sourced ingredients. Exceptions include spices and oil. No breaks for using ingredients that could be sourced locally, but aren’t (e.g., potatoes). Most of the recipes will be for complete meals.
  • Investigate 5 new sources of local foods.
  • Blog about my finds and update http://foodorigins.wikispaces.org/ Write 1-2 articles for newsletters.

Things I really hope to find:

  • A source of local non-gmo vegetable oil
  • A couple food products that are fantastically good that you can’t find anywhere else
  • A workable local starch on which to base meals
Leave a Reply

