Local vegetable oil!

I found it! Based on a tip from Lee Purdy at Westwind Milling, I looked up Thumb Oilseed Producers. They are located in the Michigan “thumb” region and grow and produce two lines of soybean oil: non-gmo and organic (which is also non-gmo). Their list of retail outlets is small right now, but I am eager to make a trek and buy some. Or better yet, to have someone passing through that area and my area drop some off. I’m also going to suggest that my local food co-op start carrying it!

3 Comments

  1. farm mom said,

    November 8, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Wow! I’m shocked! And yes, there quite a few locations near me! I’ve never seen it before, but I’ll look for it when out and about on Fri. I’ll let you know what I find. And no, I don’t come down to Ann Arbor often, but my sis and I have been talking about attempting to take a trip down to the Whole Foods together. I’ll let you know if we do!! 🙂

  2. espringf said,

    November 8, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Do let me know! (See my professional site at http://www.drgndrop.com/ and e-mail me from there…) And if you’re going to go to Whole Foods, you should also (or instead) go to the food co-op and Sparrow Meat and Produce (see this link. Similar types of food, but much more local and less yuppie. I’ll give you a tour!

  3. September 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    […] certified local, non-GMO cooking oil available here.  I am pretty sure it’s the same oil as the one I reported on in 2008 with a sexy new label – but the good part is, you no longer have to drive to Frankemuth to […]


Leave a Reply

