New Year’s Resolutions

This year, I plan to…

• Bake a good loaf of bread (or biscuits?) from local flour, preferably sourdough.
• Build pergola to shade the front windows, tidy landscaping underneath, and grow edible plants up the side.
• Learn what I’d have to grow to feed ourselves for a year. (using Grandma’s home ec notebook as a starting point
• Find out how deep our well is; investigate hand pumps.
• First pass at rehabilitating soil in the back yard: manure , radishes, and field peas.
• Kill an animal for food, clean and butcher it.
• Grow, process, and eat homegrown quinoa.
• Donate 500 lbs of produce (home grown or gleaned) to Food Gatherers and still have all the garden veg we want.
• Can tomatoes (and maybe peaches); freeze corn, broccoli, and green beans.

Check back in December!

4 Comments

  1. onestraw said,

    January 2, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    All great things! Love the donate part. I plan on doing the same, but most of our food pantries are addicted to Sysco. Will need to work on that…

    Keep us posted on the quinoa-I’d love to here about your learnings!
    -Rob

  2. farm mom said,

    January 3, 2008 at 8:36 am

    What a great list of goals! Looking forward to reading about your adventures!

  3. Melinda said,

    January 18, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    That’s a wonderful list. I’m so glad you’ve joined the Growing Challenge. I can’t believe I’ve never come across your blog before – it’s great!

    I’m still learning what we need to grow to feed ourselves, but I’m getting closer. Mainly, I need to add grains to the garden.

    I am also planning to plant a row of veggies for our local food bank. And my husband, the former bread baker of the household, is teaching me to bake it. We grew our own starter back in the summer. High maintenance, but worth it!

  4. Emily said,

    January 19, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Thanks, everyone! We’ll see how much of this I can manage. It’ll be a stretch, but I think it’s doable. Melinda, check out Farm Mom’s and Rob’s blogs (above) – they’re on the same adventure!


Leave a Reply

