Eggs and Olives

EggsI sort of like eggs. I used to hate them; the sulfur smell alone of a cooking egg made me feel ill. Then I discovered that organic and free-range eggs didn’t have that dreadful smell, and that they actually tasted pretty good.

Still, I find the taste of a plain egg to be pretty boring. Eggs need something to perk them up – bacon, ham, sausage, and cheese immediately come to mind. For years, though, even a few slices of cheddar in an omelet did a number on my stomach, and I’m always looking for vegetarian options.

OlivesSo I got to thinking. What is it that makes these pork products taste so good with eggs? Salt and fat, mostly. Well, what’s salty and fatty and made from vegetables? Olives! I didn’t like olives, either, for the longest time, until I realized two things: canned black and green olives are just *nasty*, but that shouldn’t reflect on all olives, and secondly, even if eating olives out of hand is overwhelming, they can be just perfect diced and sprinkled into an omelet or baked into an egg strata.

Now if only I could get an olive tree to grow in Michigan…

7 Comments

  1. Suzie said,

    February 11, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    So, two things that you don’t like, and it makes something delicious?! *laughing* Most people would just say pass the pancakes.

    Also, you may be glad olives don’t grow here. It seems like processing them would be a huge pain. I mean, um, challenge. 🙂

  2. Ken said,

    February 11, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Actually, I’ve also combined two ingredients I didn’t like (including olives) to make a food I don’t like: anchovies and olives — grind’em up with some olive oil and garlic and whoa tasty tapenade!

    I’ve gotta get the Epicurean introduction to the class of olives in which kalamatas are the lowest rung.

  3. farm mom said,

    February 12, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Hey, if you find a way, let me know. I LOVE olives!! 🙂

  4. Starr said,

    February 12, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Organic eggs are far superior. I can eat those plain, just boiled. It’s handy with as busy as my family tends to be. I can’t imagine eating olives on anything!

  5. Jennifer said,

    February 12, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    IN a pot indoors?

  6. Emily said,

    February 12, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Apparently, you can grow olive trees in pots, but without long hot summers and cool but not wet winters (and about 400 years to maturity…) it’s unlikely you’ll get edible olives from the trees.

  7. onestraw said,

    February 13, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    I completely forgot that nasty egg smell until your post! We’ve been on Org. Eggs for a while. I eat ALLOT of eggs and force them on my kids (vegetarian too) to keep good fats in their brains (literally). One saving grace for me is fresh rosemary sprinkled on them fried sunny side up with toasted bread. Divine!


Leave a Reply

