My Seed (non-)Starting

GardenersSome years, I just can’t wait to get gardening. Sometime in February, I haul out the racks and lights and set up a Wall o’Sprouty Goodness in the yoga room. It makes me smile to exercise in the morning and see all the little seedlings.

This year…not so much. Allow me to list for you the seeds I will be starting indoors:

  • Kale
  • Broccoli
  • Chard?
  • Corni di Toro peppers…if I feel like it…but I can get something similar at the market…
  • Ummm…

And you know what? It’ll work out just fine. I’ll buy some organic heirloom tomato and lettuce seedlings at the market (we are so lucky to have this market) and maybe some leeks from the garden store. Most everything else will be seeded directly in the garden. And I can’t even think about that until the peas go in in April.

If I get itchy, I might plant some more stuff inside, or toss a cold frame out into the garden…hmmm, I could do my kale and such out there and skip indoor seeding altogether…that would be way easier than setting up the grow racks…

The take-away? Don’t get intimidated or guilty if you see the long lists of stuff people are planting indoors. That activity is as much for the sanity of the gardener as it is for the health of the garden. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Momster said,

    February 17, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Amen! I was feeling antsy and looking at catalogs…thought I should wrestle the grow lights and shelving into the basement…then checked your blog. All this for (hopefully) 5 tomato plants and some leeks?? Let me know when you go to market! Will we get fingerling potatoes??

  2. August 23, 2017 at 2:19 pm

    […] My Seed (non-)Starting […]


Leave a Reply

