Where I spent my weekend


The garden 2008

Originally uploaded by espring4224

Sorry for the lack of blog posts lately; like most garden bloggers in this part of the world, I’d rather be outside! The weekend was gorgeous; I think I spent over six hours outside on Sunday building the screen house, planting wheat, and tidying up the yard. See all pics here.

This is a view of the garden taken from the SE corner of the house (by the rain barrels) and looking NE toward the garden and the neighbors’ house. You can tell which are the new beds, yes? I just about doubled the size of the garden this year. All last week I took my morning exercise shoveling and wheeling dirt from the big pile in the back to the new beds.

I don’t think I’ve rhapsodized about the screen house in this venue before. It’s my favorite garden tool ever. We’re big brassica fans here – kale, broccoli, etc. but it’s tiresome searching every leaf for tiny caterpillars the same color as the leaf. This is made out of 6 used 3’x4′ wooden window screens, two 2″x2″x8′ poles, hinges, and some additional window screening. Each of the side panels lifts up so you can get inside and work (the ends are fixed to the raised beds). Best of all, it baffles the cabbage moths so they can’t get in to lay their eggs on the brassicas – which means no caterpillars! Simple, effective, no chemicals, and cost about $30.

It fits most of my beds, so I can move it each year as I rotate crops. I also have plans to sheathe it in plastic this fall to try to overwinter some kale, which I’ve never been able to do past Thanksgiving.

4 Comments

  1. Derrick said,

    May 5, 2008 at 11:45 am

    It’s beautiful!

    I’m currently gardening at my grandparents old house. I am sad to say that my garden is shameful compared to what they had. If I am ever able to find pictures, I will try to share. It’s what you probably would expect from two plant loving retirees with all the time in the world. My sickly holes in the ground will one day become raised beds, but it wasn’t in the stars this year.

  2. Gina said,

    May 6, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Wow, the screen house is a great idea!! I have a bunch of extra screens and I get so discouraged by the cabbage whites!

    Thanks for the EAB mention. I hope it helped!

  3. TeacherPatti said,

    May 6, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    What a nice backyard set up you have!!! Love it!

  4. greenadine said,

    May 11, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    a well organized site i stumbled here, from green with a gun to my own vein, the earthly responsibility, or should i say joy? thanks.


Leave a Reply

