The great bean experiment

I’m planting a Three Sisters garden this year – corn, beans, and squash all in the same bed. The corn went in a couple weeks ago, and I wanted to plant the beans tonight. I had planned to plant all Hidatsa Shield Figure beans, and then I thought…why not plant exactly what beans we eat? I went to the pantry and dug out three jars of beans: black turtle beans, garbanzos, and lentils. They are now planted along with two rows of the Hidatsas.

Will they grow? I think so. They are all organic and reasonably fresh (I think…). I have no idea how well any of these produce…but that’s the point of this experiment. To see how they grow. Do you have any idea what a lentil looks like on the vine? I sure don’t…but I hope to find out!

5 Comments

  1. Stacy said,

    May 20, 2008 at 9:37 am

    We are also doing the 3 sister experiment this year. We planted the corn on Wednesday so we are waiting eagerly for the sprouts so we can start the beans. I can’t remember what beans we are using, something green that I can mash up and feed to the baby. It will be fun to read about your experience.

  2. May 20, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I had originally wanted to do the “three sisters” but have decided against it for some reason or another.

    I’m sad that the garden I envisioned for this year hasn’t happened yet, since we’ve had too many days of rain and not enough days of planting.

    I’m still missing corn and green beans! I must hurry before it’s too late!

  3. onestraw said,

    May 22, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Wierd, I have two packets of the Hidastas for my 3 sisters! Am using Hopi Blue Corn for the “stakes”. The flour corn will pay my “rent” at one of the farms as chicken feed so I am going big with 50-60 mounds.

    Keep us posted on the lentils, I too have wondered!

  4. rebecca77 said,

    May 23, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    I am very excited about your bean experiment as I would like to grow some lentils next Australian spring/summer! Keep us posted on how they go….thanks, Rebecca

  5. June 1, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    […] have other photos up of the garden this month, including several updates to the Great Bean Experiment. All of the black, garbanzo, Hidatsa, and lentil seeds I planted have sprouted, to some degree! I […]


Leave a Reply

