Wheat!


The winter wheat I planted in…October? November? last year is starting to head up! Unlike rye, the heads emerge from the middle, not the top, of the stalk. You can see this one peeking out of the leaf it’s wrapped in.

I have other photos up of the garden this month, including several updates to the Great Bean Experiment. All of the black, garbanzo, Hidatsa, and lentil seeds I planted have sprouted, to some degree! I re-planted a few today, and we’ll see if they continue to grow…but they did sprout.

3 Comments

  1. Robyn M. said,

    June 1, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    How much space did you plant out in wheat? How much do you expect to yield?

  2. Emily said,

    June 2, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I planted one 8’x4′ bed in wheat. I expect a pound or so of berries from 32 sq feet…not very much; its mostly a proof-of-concept. It took about a tablespoon of seed to plant that area – plants about 4″ apart. I’ve broadcast seeded other areas, which takes a lot more seed but is a little harder to harvest.

  3. Derrick said,

    June 2, 2008 at 9:05 am

    hehe, wheat close to home…horrible pun 🙂

    I would love to do this if I had the extra room (and one of those fancy grinding mills)

    I’m hoping this summer to find some Kudzu. There have been a few sightings in my county, and I hear it makes some good flour.


Leave a Reply

