Locavorious: Ann Arbor frozen food CSA

This is about seven kinds of wonderful. Rena at Locavorious has expanded on the idea of a CSA in some really interesting ways. First, instead of a box of fresh vegetables, these CSA shares are made of frozen fruits and vegetables. All products are sourced locally within a short distance of Ann Arbor, Michigan, from existing farms (either by contract or U-Pick). After prep and freezing, Rena stores the veggies in a commercial-quality “community freezer” until November or December. There will be four monthly pick-ups, so there’s no need to buy a freezer to be able to enjoy locally-grown, frozen foods in the middle of winter. Not to mention the labor savings for folks who don’t have the time to tramp to half a dozen U-Pick places and then process all the food!

One of the things I like most about this kind of business is that it really is helping to build an interdependent local economy that’s accessible to mainstream culture. Let’s face it; most of the current US society isn’t going to cook every meal from fresh vegetables just harvested by Farmer Joan down the road. But they might serve a side of frozen green beans harvested by Farmer Joan and frozen by Rena two months ago.

Shares run for 4 months and will probably yield a total of around 30 pounds of food. The “early bird” price for 2008-09 is $100. Sounds like a great deal to me! I’ve already signed up. See details at http://locavorious.com/Eaters.html

Are there other innovative local food businesses out there that I’ve missed? Please let me know if you know of more innovators!

4 Comments

  1. Matriarchy said,

    July 1, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    What a great idea! I am going to suggest this to some farmers near us.

  2. TeacherPatti said,

    July 1, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    I signed up for Locavorious last month…what a super idea! I can’t wait for that yummy stuff in the dead of winter 🙂

  3. July 8, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    great idea – I hope they have commercial grade backup power for that freezer!

  4. chefbrian1 said,

    August 7, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I like this idea especially the part of not having to store the veggies myself. I usually have peas, corn and u-pick berries in the freezer anyway.

    Just yesterday, I refused the extra potatoes offered at my csa pick up because I already have a ton from last week. I am not sure what the farmer will do with their excess produced, but freezing and offering them later say to extend the share sounds like a good idea.


Leave a Reply

