Me, too

So if you read other Ann Arbor food bloggers, you’ve probably read that a dozen of us met – completely unaided by technology – and had a lovely evening of food and chatting. And so, at risk of being redundant, and also having no pictures to share, I simply say: me, too. I had a lovely time, with people I hope to see more often for chatting, noshing, and changing the world.

I have a hard time meeting new people. I’ve been in town five years, and I think I’ve met maybe five people that I didn’t know before I moved here who I ever actually see outside of work or other people’s parties. Where do you meet folks? And my worst issue, what do you talk about? Happily, Patti figured that all out and announced the topic of discussion right in the invitations. And we all share this passion, so all that awkwardness evaporated before the party even started.

In just a few hours, I got a picture of this web of connections weaving together people and farms and kitchens and caring in this area. And as I poke my nose out of my own garden into other people’s kitchens, I’m finding that what started out as a desire to feed my own family has given me access to something even more valuable than a full pantry: a full community. And maybe that’s what I needed to find in the first place.

6 Comments

  1. Suzie said,

    July 19, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    >if you read other Ann Arbor food bloggers

    No, and I didn’t know there were any – and it sounds like a tasty idea!. Mind sharing the weblinks?

  2. Suzie said,

    July 19, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Very cool! (I just spent an hour scrolling through just the first one, totally fun stuff.)

  3. TeacherPatti said,

    July 20, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Thanks, Emily! I feel the same way re: meeting people. It IS hard. I recently mentioned on my LJ how it seems that many of my friends come from the Internet. I think people get so busy and one of the first things to be neglected are friendships. I can’t wait for us all to get together again.

  4. kim said,

    July 20, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Hi Emily, what a nice way of expressing the zeitgeist of the evening. Don’t we all need a full community.

    Kim

  5. mandi said,

    July 21, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    wow! look at that community- how great! i know what you mean about a full community. that is something my husband and i crave and are slowly trying to build in our ‘new’ town. lovely post…


Leave a Reply

