Canning jars!

So, by working Craig’s List a little, I was able to find canning jars. I found a listing for an estate sale that ended last week. They listed canning jars among the items to be sold, so on the off chance they had some left, I wrote. They did, and mostly pints, which is what I wanted. I scored 44 pints and 10 quarts for $12. w00t!

I’m thinking this will keep us in salsa and fruit-on-the-bottom yogurt fruit (“conserves” is the recipe term, I believe) for a year. I also plan to try canning chicken and vegetable stock now that I have a pressure canner.

If I give you jam, do you promise to give the jar back?

8 Comments

  1. Derrick said,

    July 24, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    How do you feel about jam/jelly/salsa swapping instead? 😉

    Care for some Apple Habanero Jelly from a state below? My grandmother left me with a nice spread of pint jars, so we’re going to make our fill of pizza sauce, ketchup, jam/jelly, salsa, and the rest. I can hardly wait (although the tomatoes are doing a fine job of waiting)!

  2. Kathie said,

    July 24, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    That’s quite a score!

  3. Emily said,

    July 25, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Derrick – I might be tempted! Contact me from my professional web site: http://drgndrop.com/ … black cherry conserves for pizza sauce?

  4. Jen in MI said,

    July 25, 2008 at 7:27 am

    That’s a great score! Enjoy! I really, really need to teach myself canning.

  5. kimcash said,

    July 25, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Great score! I’ll have to try that too, as I’ll be doing lots of canning next year!

  6. Leasmom said,

    August 20, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I couldn’t get any off of craiglist…probably because you snagged them all-lol!!!!

  7. February 15, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Good job! I am scared that The pressure will continue to rise after hitting the 10 pounds, and I don’t know how to regulate it……


Leave a Reply

