Apologies from a bad blogger

Sorry for the lack of substantive posts around here lately. I’ve been doing some harvesting/preserving and rather more work and travel than usual.

However, a lot of it is just feeling tired and kind of fed up with obligations. I’ve busted my butt this year breaking new garden ground, learning to grow new foods, learning a heck of a lot about food preservation, reducing our carbon footprint, and all that paid-job stuff that I don’t usually talk about here. I’ve done a pretty good job of it, and I’ve been doing it for months on end. So I’m coasting a bit at the moment.

I will almost certainly be writing more as the weather cools down and the harvest is tucked safely away. Long nights by the fire, blogging away to to my faithful readers. I hope y’all will bear with me through this dry spell. I’d love to start the conversation up again…as soon as the tomatoes are canned, the greens frozen, and the new 1300sf of garden manured…

In fun news, our solar cooker arrived this week! Now, if we can just have a few sunny days when I’m home before 7, we can try it out. I’m really impressed with the kit – it has *everything*, including an oven thermometer and roasting pans. It’s sturdy and assembles easily, and in 20 minutes of low, slanty sunlight (in southern Michigan in mid-September), it got up to 175 degrees. So I’m hopeful it will be useful, and not just in July.

I do have a question – what are your favorite types of posts to read? Recipes? Green living? Gardening? Food prep/preservation? Product reviews? Whining about being too busy to blog? :

6 Comments

  1. Nick said,

    September 11, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Green living, recipes and gardening, in that order. Oh, and whining of any kind 😉

  2. Barbara (in Tennessee) said,

    September 11, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    whining, definitely whining, followed closely by gardening, green living, and recipes. (actually in any order.) 🙂 and whining is always good.

  3. Barbara (in Tennessee) said,

    September 11, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I forgot, as a newbie canner and gardener, I like food preservation also.

  4. Emily said,

    September 11, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Oh, y’all! Don’t encourage me to whine! *laugh* I have so little to whine about compared to so many…I don’t need any more encouragement to indulge in “woe is me”!

    Keep the suggestions coming – new ideas or specific topics are also welcome…

  5. Robyn said,

    September 12, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I’ll admit, I am quite the fan of recipes. But I also really enjoy your lived-experience discussions. It helps me see how shifting one’s life & living-style really works in the world (and, occasionally, that I’m not just going bonker–hrm, or maybe we’re both going bonkers?).

    Whining is good, too. I like reading other people whining, it makes me feel not so bad about my own whining. =)

  6. Darren said,

    September 14, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Gardening, green living, and recipes – in that order. And lots more photos!

    I really enjoy your blog, by the way. Thanks for the effort. Keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

