Possible greenhouse?

I’ve been looking for a greenhouse…I think I finally found it:

This is Another contender:

Is extra height good or bad? The second one is almost 11′ tall…will all my heat get trapped in the peak?

Aesthetically, I like the first one much, much more…and it’s modular, so I could add sections onto it. It’s also more than twice the price of the second one, with 20-30sf less easily usable growing space.

My eco-conscious side also says I should build something out of recycled windows and sliding glass doors. *sigh* But the polycarbonate kit could theoretically be moved from year to year – important for soil fertility and pest control.

Ack…what to do??

11 Comments

  1. Leasmom said,

    October 4, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Nice…I like the first one, it looks more insulated…nice.

  2. TeacherPatti said,

    October 4, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Yikes! I had no idea those were so expensive!

    Dumb, dumb, dumb question, but what can you grow in a greenhouse? Can you just grow whatever you’d grow outside in the spring/summer?

  3. Emily said,

    October 5, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Patti- Price depends on what kind of greenhouse you want. Simple “hoop house” structures (bent pipe with plastic film) are far less expensive and totally effective. What I’d grow in a greenhouse is cool-weather crops like kale, leeks, broccoli, etc. It’ll extend the garden season to span March through December, more or less. In the summer, I might try some heat-loving plants like peppers and sweet potatoes.

    See what El (in Kalamazoo) says about her greenhouse: http://fastgrowtheweeds.com/category/greenhouse/ Her awesome pics of what you can have in a greenhouse April 23rd in Michigan are pretty much what pushed me over the edge.

  4. Jen in MI said,

    October 5, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    I’m starting to think about a hoophouse…

  5. onestraw said,

    October 5, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Emily,

    If you don’t need the height it will only keep the heat away from your plants and add more sq footage for the wind to topple it in a storm. I side with your instincts and prefer the first one. I would also strongly adice a simple thermostat run venting system. My Hoop House hit 105+ by early May -one day forgotten can spell ruin.

    Also, if you are going to leave it in a permanent local, I strongly suggest you insulate the ground under the foundation -I had my Hoop house shut down for 2 months of growth because the roots froze despite day temps over 70 degrees. The thermal mass of all that soil is a blessing if you can keep the frost at bay with some insulation in the soil.

    Really exciting! Good luck!
    -Rob

  6. Emily said,

    October 5, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Rob- How do you insulate the soil?

  7. TeacherPatti said,

    October 5, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Thanks, Emily! I probably wouldn’t want my own, but I’d certainly go in on one with other folks!!

  8. Momster said,

    October 6, 2008 at 10:01 am

    The first one!….easy with all the beer you don’t drink and all the veg you do!

  9. dakota said,

    October 6, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Well… my greenhouse is teeny tiny and is movable (it was just a kit), and it’s just tall enough for me to stand in… 8 ft, I think. I would have loved for it to be a bit taller so that I could have put in shelves, but the first option you have looks like it’s tall enough to do that anyway. I’m so far from a greenhouse expert that it’s not even funny, but I like the first one more because of the aesthetics and modular capability.

  10. Melissa said,

    October 7, 2008 at 8:28 am

    It took a team of 6-8 of us an 6 hours to assemble one of these at Camp Libbey in Defiance, OH. While the finished product seemed nice, the polycarbonate was cheap and some parts required trimming due to not fitting exactly.

    I have seem directions online that are less costly, more versatile and easier to assemble. The top model would not be my first choice in a greenhouse.

  11. Emily said,

    October 7, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Melissa – Could you point me toward those better plans?


Leave a Reply

