Pantry recipe winner!

corned-beefIn a 100% biased election process, the judge has voted unanimously with herself* and declared the winner of last week’s Pantry Recipe Contest to be…STOVIES! The winner will receive an all-expenses paid weekend at the gorgeous Rooms at Grayfield Bed and Breakfast in Jonesville, Michigan. Perhaps if you ask the chef nicely, she’ll prepare Stovies for you while you’re there. 😉

Ok, ok, so my mom submitted this recipe. I can’t believe I didn’t remember it myself – it’s a tasty part of my childhood. Dad brought this recipe to the family, and we often ate it when he cooked. Mom sez:

Sautee a chopped onion and 2 or 3 cooked diced potatoes. Add a can of corned beef and half the can (start with less) of water. Add curry powder to taste. Can be served with an egg on top, too. Easy to double up on potatoes and feed four.

The curry adds a really interesting twist on the plain salty flavor of the corned beef. One of my chief memories of this dish is the way it makes my tongue tingle. That’s the turmeric in the curry powder, and I have a similar sensation when eating Indian food these days. Come to think of it, I was probably the only kid in my town (of 2000) who knew what curry even was in the mid-80s.

Thanks, Mom, for the reminder. Now I need to find a source of local, free-range, canned corned beef… *grin*

* No, this isn’t always the case…

3 Comments

  1. Momster said,

    November 10, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    You still have to split your sizeable inheritance with your brother! Thanks!

  2. Leasmom said,

    November 10, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    LOL! Love the post from Momster!

  3. Buttercup said,

    November 11, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Too late for the contest but I’ll submit mine anyway. First a comment: the whole point of pantry food is that unless you are using Eden Organic canned beans, it is not going to be very P.C. I’ve cut way back on the canned goods I buy but I still keep a couple of cans of tuna for the hard times. Dolphin-free, one hopes, and I’ve moved from albacore in water to light tuna in olive oil.

    If you have tuna and some good homemade bread (or stale bought bread) (or biscuits, fresh or old), you can have a meal in 10 minutes with this:

    Depression Creamed Tuna

    Make white sauce: 2T butter, 2 T flour – mix then add about 2 cups milk, or to make the desired consistency. Drain tuna (if olive oil type, consider saving that oil for another use) and mix. Add pepper, but not salt.

    Serve over toast. If you have canned or frozen peas in that pantry, cook them and serve with. We just dump the peas, cooking liquid and all, on top of the creamed tuna (try not to add too much water when you cook them, but do add salt and pepper).

    My mother served 3 with this recipe. She made toast cups. I serve 2 on flat bread but usually end up keeping some for a refrigerator forage. Could serve 4 with another good vegetable dish on the side.

    I have to think about that corned beef. Haven’t had that since childhood.


Leave a Reply

