She wrote it so I don’t have to

I was very interested to see Peak Oil Hausfrau’s introduction to the problems of burning wood for fuel today. The short version: If we run out of oil and turn to wood for heat and cooking fuel, what will happen to the landscape? How much pollution will that create?

I am looking forward to tomorrow’s installment, where she’ll discuss solutions. And man, do I wish I had access to a woodlot. I don’t, but I wonder if I could work with some neighbors to start working on sustainable fuel farms?

3 Comments

  1. November 21, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I heard that coffee logs were a much better alternative to burning logs.

  2. Emily said,

    November 23, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Patrice- Interesting. I’ve heard of them, but not used them myself. How much do they cost? How long to they burn? How much heat do they throw? Can you make them yourself? Given how much wood it takes to heat the house, I bet it would be astronomically expensive to use them as a regular heat source.

  3. onestraw said,

    November 27, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Thanks for the link Emily. I left an uber comment (too much coffee makes me type too fast) rambling on about gasification and gods know what else. You might be surprised to know how little land it will take. My number point to less than 10 acres of mixed use permaculture food/fuel forest to power our gasifier -running 40 hr/wk 50 weeks/yr- indefinitely. A house would need a fraction of that. A masonry wood stove like a tulikivi would also cut that waaaaaay down.

    Better yet – a pellet stove or gasifier can run on virtually any mixture of carbon sources if you can pelletize it (portable units exist [pellet pros]). Switchgrass, chicken poop, shredded paper, corn stalks/leaves sawdust -its all good. You don’t even need a wood lot -how about a prairie!
    -Rob


Leave a Reply

