Winter: dormant but not dead

frostI’ve been fairly quiet lately on this blog, and haven’t written much of substance lately. In part, I’ve done this for just over a year and am sort of running out of things to say. I’m not much for saying the same thing over and over and as the seasons cycle, the topics start to seem redundant.

Also, it’s winter. It’s always easy to write about my garden (when I have time…) but there’s not much going on out there just now – even in the greenhouse. It’s dark when I get home from work, and work’s been quite busy, with a side order of consulting work, so when I get home, it often seems healthier to stay away from the computer.

I am also starting to have some Big Thinks. I’m not quite ready to talk about them here – but soon, I’ll be bouncing ideas off y’all. My efforts might soon be moving from cyberspace to neighborhood space and that may well change the nature of this blog. A body’s only got so much energy, y’know, and I think it’s time to be moving to Doing instead of Writing About Doing.

I’ll drop a few hints now. I’m inspired by…

  • Robyn and Ken, who have started co-operative buying clubs in their towns
  • Rena, who’s created a local frozen food CSA
  • Mary, whose business prepares your CSA share into soups, salads, and heat-and-eat entrees, and just started a baking CSA, too (bread, granola, pies…)
  • Growing Hope, who’s built community gardens, helped doubled the sales at the Ypsilanti Farmers’ Market, and provided access to fresh produce to folks outside the the Ann Arbor “green zone” (produce and dollars are more plentiful in A2, by far)
  • The Food System Economic Partnership, which is helping to build local markets for local food producers
  • My grandparents, had skills that are starting to seem a whole lot more important than any of my college degrees

So, like many plants, I drop my seeds in the ground at the beginning of the cold season. It won’t look like much is happening until conditions are right…then, who knows? If the seeds don’t rot or get eaten, there just might be something worth looking at next summer.

3 Comments

  1. onestraw said,

    December 7, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I wish you luck, and challenge you to strive for the Holy Grail of eco-blogging: Doing AND Writing!!! That way you can “teach us to fish” as well!

    -Rob

  2. Anonymous said,

    December 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    I just recently read about someone starting a “Grain” CSA, for locally grown flour and other grains. Maybe in Vancouver? That seems like a big need in the AA area.

    Good luck!

    Jo

  3. Emily said,

    December 12, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Jo-

    We’re actually pretty blessed with grains in this area. For heirloom grain and flour, there’s one (or maybe two?) vendors at the Farmers’ Market. Pricey, though…$3-4/lb. But at the Ann Arbor Co-op, you can get a number of products (whole wheat berries and a couple kinds of flour) that are grown in Michigan and sold through Ferris Organic Farm. If you need large quantities, you can order a 25 or 50 pound bag, which comes from Ferris, and get a 10% discount on the price – which I think is at or under $1/lb. What would you see as the advantage of a grain CSA over just being able to buy local grain at the store?

    Emily


Leave a Reply

