Propane consternation

thermometerWell, despite all the efforts we’ve made this fall and winter, it looks like we’re going through propane at the same rate as in previous years. Maybe…maybe even faster? This makes no sense. We’ve:

  • Turned the thermostat down 3 degrees (63 when we’re here and awake; 57 at night; 55 when we’re gone)
  • Put in a fireplace insert, which should prevent a ton of heat from going up the chimney (we no longer feel drafts when it gets windy)
  • Used the fireplace for heat a couple days a week – the furnace only comes on for a few hours overnight

I went out to check the level of propane in the tank yesterday. I know we got fill-ups at roughly the same time this November and last November, and we got a fill-up Dec. 31 of last year when the tank was around 20% full. AND the number of heating degree days has been about the same (do not mess with me, for I am the spreadsheet goddess…), so I expected the tank would be at around 30% full, or possibly even 35%.

It was at 22%. And I smelled propane.

*sigh*

The propane guy was out literally fifteen minutes later, and yes, the valve on the top was loose. He tightened it down and will be back with some more sophisticated testing equipment to be sure there isn’t more of a leak. I’m really hoping this will take care of it; it feels like we’ve done a lot to reduce our propane usage and I’ll be really disappointed if everything we’ve done truly has so little effect.

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    December 30, 2008 at 1:14 am

    I don’t know where you live, but in my part of the country, thefts of propane, heating oil, etc have become very common.

  2. Heather said,

    December 30, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    How frustrating!! I hope you figure it out soon…

  3. Leasmom said,

    December 30, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    I hope you figure it out.


Leave a Reply

