So. Cool.

So my neighbor, Rich, does a lot of yard work for us: mowing, plowing snow, tilling new garden beds, delivering horse manure for my gardens. There was a mix-up with my bill this year, mostly surrounding a check that I mis-wrote and thought I voided, but that cleared anyway…anyhow, he just stopped by to say my account was cleared.

And get this.

He built me an oil press!

He and his brother have all the equipment and knowledge to do or build anything, IMHO, so I’d had him look at some plans over the summer and give me an estimate for a small hand press for making oil from sunflower seed. It came back a little high, and around the same time I found this, which had some advantages the home-built one wouldn’t, so I didn’t have him build it. He still had the plans, and whether it was an apology for the bill mix-up, or (more likely) that he just thought it would be cool, he built the welded parts of the press for me. All I need to do is get a small hand jack to make the hydraulic squeezing mechanism and rig some kind of catch pan for the oil, and it should be good to go!

But the best gift is…I think we’re really starting to be “neighbors” instead of “Rich is my lawn guy.”

I think I need to send fresh bread and jam.

6 Comments

  1. Momster said,

    December 31, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Hope this doesn’t turn into Raoul the pool boy……

  2. Emily said,

    December 31, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Are you kidding? Raoul hasn’t done a damn lick of work around here since…well, since we moved in! And don’t get me started on Svetlana…

  3. December 31, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Thats really nice. I think that was very sweet of him! I wish I knew someone that did something just to do it without wanting payment…it seems everyone wants payment instead doing things just to be nice.

  4. Suzie said,

    December 31, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    That is so nice! Yes, definitely jam & bread are in order. 🙂

    *tangent*
    New Year’s Hugs for you!!!!!
    Love,
    S.

  5. Ken said,

    January 1, 2009 at 11:35 am

    most excellent — hurray!

  6. Heather said,

    January 2, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Oh, how lovely. That is really cool! Good neighbors can become good friends with a little bit of jam (and sunflower seed oil.)


Leave a Reply

