Plans for 2009

Reach for a changeThings to do in 2009

  • Learn my way through my first season of greenhouse gardening
  • Grow enough dried beans to make more than one meal
  • Grow and donate 150 lb of food to Food Gatherers (squash, melons, greens, potatoes, apples)
  • Grow new herbs (cumin, corriander, turmeric)
  • Insulate the house walls
  • Have a new well dug
  • Press my own sunflower oil (might include rigging up a seed sheller)
  • Learn to cook in/on the fireplace (soup, beans/rice, and something baked)
  • Get Preserving Traditions off the ground – hopefully 6-10 people per event, not conflicting with other groups too much (no “event poaching”)
  • Learn to pressure can
  • Pay off car loan
  • Put another month’s worth of expenses into deep savings
  • Work on flexibility in lower back, hips, quads, and hamstrings (yoga at least 4x wk)
6 Comments

  1. shayne said,

    January 5, 2009 at 8:20 am

    It is a good thing the pressure canner came with a book to help you learn how.

    I practice yoga and I find it hard to incorporate it into my life every day and I sure could use it every day. I hope you find your routine to get into your day 4 times a week.

    Shayne

  2. January 5, 2009 at 9:05 am

    I’m excited to see your progress with cooking in the fireplace…that will be a good way to save money, make memories and feel a connection to the past.

  3. Sara said,

    January 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I’ll be growing dried beans for the first time this year. Any advice on how many plants I should plant? I’d also like to get more than a meal’s worth. 🙂

  4. Emily said,

    January 5, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Shayne- Yes! And I hope to find a live person to teach me, too!

    Patrice- I have high hopes for fireplace cookery! It would be nice if it were a cookstove, but we make do with what we have.

    Sara- Dried beans aren’t all that prolific. With a really well-tended and fertile raised bed, my best haul so far has been about a pound out of around 15 square feet of dry pole beans (Hidatsa Shield Figure variety). Let the pods dry on the vine, then shell them and let the loose beans dry some more (a couple days on a screen will work) before storing them.

  5. Matriarchy said,

    January 5, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    LOL! I grew and dried enough black-eyed peas for exactly one meal! I plan to try for more next year, too.

  6. ilex said,

    January 5, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    The beans resolution really made me guffaw.


Leave a Reply

