Seed list for this year

purplepeacockThis year, I’m making use of Amazon.com’s “universal wish list” to organize my seed shopping. I’m planting over 1300sf this year, if you include the greenhouse.

Some highlights:

  • I’m going to grow sweet potatoes from purchased slips in the greenhouse. I’ve not had any success growing them from tubers in the garden in the past.
  • Purple Peacock Broccoli (at right) – an open-pollinated cross between broccoli and 2 kinds of kale. You can eat the whole plant!
  • Also wild kale mix seeds. Boasts “high genetic diversity for selecting plants suited to your climate.”
  • Several new kinds of heirloom beans.
  • Nothstine dent corn – a northern Michigan heirloom corn for corn meal
  • New crops for me: Popcorn, Okra, Cucumbers, Shallots (purchased locally)
  • I’m dithering on Sweet Meat squash. The Matron of Husbandry loves them and I’m inspired to try them, but I’ve found the Delicatas and Sweet Dumplings so delicious and practical (single-serving size; I’m the only squash eater in the house) that I’m eating them all the time. I never find myself reaching for anything even so large as a butternut, let alone the giant Sweet Meats. Of course, for 90 cents and some room to run in my corn patch, why not? I’m sure Food Gatherers would love to have them if I don’t want to wrestle with the 15-lb Sweets.

I’ll buy tomato and pepper plants at the market; there’s always a good variety and I won’t have to start them from seed. I’m hoping the Matt’s Wild Cherries that dropped into their pot last fall will sprout come spring, too.  I actually hate starting seeds. Maybe the greenhouse will change that.

9 Comments

  1. Anneliese said,

    January 9, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    We’re in Wisconsin and have grown plenty of sweet potatoes that we started ourselves. How are you starting them? We usually start them in the house in January (right about now), by placing the tubers in jars half-full of water. After a while, they will develop little leafy slips. Later in the Spring, we cut the slips off and transfer them to a flat of soil so they can develop roots. By the time it’s warm enough to plant outside, the slips are ready to be transplanted.

    Best of luck!

  2. Emily said,

    January 9, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Thanks, Anneliese! Mine got moldy, or I started them too late. I never transferred them to flats – that’s probably my problem. I want to try again, but maybe not this year. Too many other challenges this year… (6x larger garden, plus a greenhouse to learn about…)

  3. January 9, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    I haven’t finalized my list yet…I’m still waiting on seed catalogs…good for you in having gotten that far.

  4. Suzie said,

    January 10, 2009 at 8:05 am

    All very neat! The purple peacock broccoli is lovely, too. As always, if you’re looking for help at any time, feel free to give me a call and if I can assist I will.

  5. Momster said,

    January 10, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Seed-starting, to me, is like having a newborn or a litter of puppies! Too much attention needed but with my experience with seeds, not much reward! If I buy a packet of seeds, I divide it among two or three friends who are successful with seed starting–they keep most of the plants and give me 3 or 4.

  6. January 10, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I’m still the world’s worst grower. I’ll do well even keeping started plants going.

  7. Emily said,

    January 10, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Patrice – the congratulations should probably be for waiting until Jan. 1 to START planning with this level of detail! 😉

    Suzie – Expect calls in late March or Early April!

    Momster – It’s funny; I hate starting seeds indoors, but I’m just fine with starting them outside. I guess I just don’t have the patience to nurture tender crops along indoors, at a time and place where they just don’t belong. I also hate transplanting tiny things. So I’ll buy a bazillion packets of seed, but start them outdoors in their proper season (and maybe a few cold-hardy things in the greenhouse) and it’ll be fine.

    Jen – Don’t be too hard on yourself. Usually when people say this, it’s the soil or sun that’s the problem, not the gardener!

  8. Matriarchy said,

    January 11, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Thanks for the Purple Peacock Broccoli idea. I like that you can eat the whole thing. LOVE the Universal Wishlist! I put the button on my browser, but I didn’t start using it – until now. I’ve been keeping my wishlist tagged in my Delicious bookmarks, but that makes it hard to share.

    I kill most things I start indoors. This year, I plan to try starting a few squash indoors, close to planting time. I was going to buy sweet potato slips, but I might also try starting some with Anneliese’a method. If I fail, I can always still buy some.

  9. Anonymous said,

    April 18, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    @ Matriarchy:
    I also killed most things I started indoors until I got the seed starting kit for my aerogrow. Have started parsley, lemongrass, stevia, tomatoes and such from seed & had them going in the garden the whole summer. Want to try rooting cuttings in it soon.

    Also, my husband likes “Egglands Best” eggs so these sometimes show up in our fridge. I modified one to make a self-watering container for starting shallot seed: Cut off one set of a dozen egg cups, used a nail or something to punch a hole in each, used scissors or a knife to cut one of the “peaks” to pour the water through, and set the cups back in the boxtop. I pour water through the cut-off peak occasionally and it gets sucked to the plantlings through the hole in the egg cup. The egg cup thing is new this year — so far, so good!


Leave a Reply

