Preserving Traditions…whoa!

Yes. We Can.I’m rather stunned by the response so far to Preserving Traditions. After about a month, we’ve got something like 40 people on the mailing list, and 25 people signed up for 20 spots at the first event. The group’s had three unsolicited mentions in local publications, and one of those was from someone I don’t even know. :)

People are asking me for wait lists, and running events more often, and I’ve gotten a great response on the idea of pick-and-pack parties (where we work together to pick and then can or freeze fruits and veg through the summer). I’ll be doing a longer post on that in a few days…the cool thing is, you can pick, or pack, or even make lunch for the pick-n-packers, and come away with a share of the haul.

Whew. This is…a lot! Taking off a lot faster than I’d thought it would. Must not burn out…must not burn out…

A question: Do you want me to keep posting updates here, or is posting them over at Preserving Traditions sufficient?

7 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    February 4, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    How do I sign up for the mailing list? I’d love to stay informed!

  2. Emily said,

    February 4, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Sara – send an e-mail to preservetrad ~!{at]!~ gmail ~!{at]!~ dotcom

  3. TeacherPatti said,

    February 4, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I like reading about it here…the more ways you publicize, the better!! 🙂

  4. Buttercup said,

    February 4, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    My vote is to keep commenting and celebrating (or bemoaning) here and limit the PT site to announcements and highly relevant content.

  5. Suzie said,

    February 4, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Here!

  6. Robyn M. said,

    February 5, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Hey there,

    At the risk of creating Even More Work(tm) for you, have you thought about farming out your “Preserving Traditions” idea for other locales? You could create a short “here’s how I put this together” document, and let other people use your swank icon? I’m up to my eyeballs in co-op work right now, but I’d love to start one of these groups in my own area at some point. I could do it on my own, but it would be great to get a template or suggestions from someone who’s already done it successfully…. (Robyn is always looking for more work for Emily…)

    Oh, and for your original question–I think you should do whatever you’re most likely to *keep* doing. If it’s annoying to remember to post in both places, then don’t–just let us know and we’ll adjust. If it’s no hardship, then by all means keep doing it. But don’t burn yourself out!

  7. Emily said,

    February 5, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Hey, Robyn-

    Instructions on how to start your own chapter are DEFINITELY forthcoming. I just want to get the first event off the ground first! I have hopes that local chapters will spring up all over the place. Heck, we might need a couple more in this area alone, if interest keeps up like this…

    Emily


Leave a Reply

