Gardening and menus

GardenersI am so excited I can hardly express myself. It is February 10th, and I came home from work today and planted seeds. The soil in the greenhouse has thawed, so I think it’s time to give it a shot! I planted kohlrabi, Winter Density lettuce, Pentland Brig kale, and New York onions.

I also cooked dinner, which has been happening far too seldom lately. I drew up a monthly menu last weekend, finally. We’d kind of fallen off the wagon with that. It’s funny; I keep all the menus I type up, and while I have summer menus going back two or three years, in that time there are only 2 menus for winter and early spring months.

This should help with the not-cooking thing; the worst part about cooking after a long day of work (for us, at least) is not cooking; it’s answering “what are we having for dinner.” Favorite restaurant foods come to mind easily, and then you get a taste for it, and it’s hard for us to not feed that taste. Pre-seeding the palate with this week’s options helps us fight the urge to just let someone else cook.

That being said, we had a very nice dinner out last night. I started off asking, as usual, “Anything local on the menu tonight?” and that started a lovely long conversation with our waitress, who said their new chef is really into local food and is rewriting the menu to feature many local and sustainable items! My favorite restaurant in town just got favorite-er!

The RSVP for March’s Preserving Traditions event (wheat and home grain milling, March 8th at 2pm) will be posted in a day or two.

1 Comment

  1. Leasmom said,

    February 11, 2009 at 8:03 am

    I hope I can come to the event! I’m not too far away!


Leave a Reply

