Sprouted bread: round 1

sproutI’ve been wanting to learn to make sprouted grain bread for a while. It seems to agree with me really well; easy to digest, and doesn’t spike my blood sugar like even whole wheat bread can. I used this recipe, which my Aunt sent to me a couple weeks ago.

It was an interesting process. First of all, I don’t know if I got some weirdo mutant wheat, but my 3 cups of wheat and rye and lentils made about 10 tightly packed cups of sprouts instead of the expected 4.5. I do think I let them “over-sprout” – they were supposed to have just the tips of sprouts starting to show, and mine had legs and arms and even small leaves. And possibly drivers’ licenses. But this took only 2-3 days, which is what the recipe said…

The over-sproutyness might also explain why step 2, blending the wheat berries in a food processor, smelled like I’d stuffed a salad into a blender. Fresh and green, but…are you sure this is going to turn into bread? I was dubious, but pressed on.

I had so many sprouts, I did two loaves. One as per the recipe (over 1/2 a cup of gluten? Seriously? And is it true that 99% of our gluten comes from China? Should I be worried about melamine?) and the other I used spelt flour and molasses instead. The spelt one did eventuall turn into something like “dough,” but the other one really looked more like batter even after raising.

So I did the kneading, raising, loaf-forming, and second rise, then baked. I was still dubious; while one loaf looked like a loaf, the other looked like zucchini bread. And they still had that distinctly vegetable smell.

I baked them for an hour and did, in fact, check that their internal temps  were 200 degrees. Pulled them out, let them cool, and sliced them. The wetter loaf was…wet. Sticky. Like, Boston Brown Bread, steamed toffee pudding sticky. Erm. On to the loafy loaf. Same thing.

Ok, so I’m out a couple bucks’ worth of ingredients and some electricity for the oven. Big deal. But hey, might as well nibble a corner and see if it tastes like sprouts.

And no. It didn’t taste like sprouts. It tasted like Grape Nuts.

Whuhhhh?

And…I kinda couldn’t stop eating it. My husband and I agreed: this was the most oddly compelling bread either of us had ever eaten. I don’t know if I’d go so far as to say it was *good*, but … it really invited nibbling.

I’m definitely going to try again, and I’ll blend the sprouts up before they turn from “grain” into “grasslette.” But hey, if you want to experience something that can turn from salad to Grape Nuts, give it a try…

3 Comments

  1. Maggie said,

    March 16, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I’ve wanted to try making sprouted bread as well. Even though the texture wasn’t what you wanted the Grape Nut flavor sounds awesome. I have a major addiction to the premade sprouted corn tortillas and would love to try making them too.

  2. Claire said,

    March 19, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Hi Emily. Love your site. Not about srpouted bread, but–I’m wondering if you’re still liking your Family Grain Mill? I’m trying to decide between that one, the one Lehman’s calls “Our Best Grain Mill,” of the Wondermill Junior. Any recent thoughts? Thanks so much!

    http://www.thetanglednest.com


Leave a Reply

