Birthday in the greenhouse

GardenersSo yesterday was my birthday, and I got a seasonally-unexpected birthday treat: I got to turn compost piles and see that many of my seeds are sprouting!

Yes. I’m a freak. Well, about the compost. Actually, I have a compost conundrum. I’ve been using 4′ tall welded wire fencing to make bins – pop ’em open, move ’em, fork stuff over…but 4′ tall is quite a lift for a 5′ 6″ gardener. And this time, the bins had sagged toward each other and it was really hard to get the wire out. I’m dithering between trimming the fencing down to about 3′, or going without a bin at all. That will probably get messy, though. Ah well; one of the bins was still frozen solid in the middle, so I can worry about that later.

The greenhouse was very exciting. Soil temps have gotten up to a steady 50 degrees (55+ during the day) and stuff is starting to sprout in earnest. The Winter Density lettuce that I planted in Feb. has true leaves and I should probably transplant them a little further apart – I didn’t manage to spread the seeds very evenly. The Purple Peacock broccoli is also coming up well, and this was planted…um, March 1, maybe? It’s really cooooooool – some of the sprouts are vivid purple, and some are almost white. I am probably most excited about this particular crop. Well…maybe until I plant my “wild kale mix.” *grin* I am all about the brassicas…

I’ve got the vents and the door propped wide open to try to keep the temp from going over 80. It was  a near thing yesterday; I need to get that extra vent installed soon, I think. It’ll go at the bottom and help create a cross-draft. Of course, with the door already open, it might be hard to do much more cross-ventilation. We’ll see, I guess. I’m concerned that an 8’x12′ greenhouse might be too small, not just for how much I want to plant, but for thermal mass reasons. I’d certainly never buy one any smaller. It just heats up way too fast.

5 Comments

  1. March 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Happy birthday, Emily! And way to go on a great start to the gardening season! I thought of you when I started seeds last evening. 🙂

  2. Buttercup said,

    March 18, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Happy birthday – this is amazing, that makes 3 people I know personally who are into the “green thing”, local food, etc., born on March 17.

    And happy compost turning. I have a similar system and I did cut my bins down to about 3′, though I have some of the taller ones I mostly use just to catch leaves in the fall. Yes! The leaves are starting to compost in some!

  3. Leasmom said,

    March 19, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Happy Belated birthday!!!

  4. TeacherPatti said,

    March 20, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Happy birthday to us 🙂
    I can’t wait to make my front yard garden!!!

  5. March 27, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Oooh what a great way to celebrate your birthday. I would love to have my compost starting to sprout right about now.


Leave a Reply

