March outside; April in the greenhouse

Sorry it’s been so long between updates. I was feeling pretty crummy for a couple weeks – dental implant and the stress of having to finish a bunch of things I didn’t want to do, not being able to do the things I want to do, and generally feeling overwhelmed. And tired and sick on top of it. (My doc suspects food allergies. *sigh*) I’m feeling much better these last few days, though, and in lieu of a birthday party this year, I had a weekend totally free to do whatever I wanted to do. See below!

Bed with peas

Inside the greenhouse, the peas and Purple Peacock broccoli are well and truly up (planted Feb. 24, I think), as is the Winter Density lettuce (planted in late January).  There’s also some evidence of onions and garbanzo beans. Of the things I planted in January, only the lettuce and garlic are doing well; the kale, kohlrabi, and mixed greens didn’t do much. The greens suffered as much from me accidentally burying them when I raked off the mulch as the cold, I think.

The rainbarrels

I spent much of today attaching a gutter to the greenhouse and getting rainbarrels set up under it. I was not as impressed with the construction of the gutter assembly as I was with the rest of the greenhouse. At least they sent an extra bracket; I broke one trying to figure out how to lever it into place. I also spent waaaaaay too much time moving cinder blocks around. However, I’m satisfied with the arrangement now (I still have to move out the extra blocks on the left in the picture below). I know I’m being fussy about the look of the greenhouse, but that’s part of the joy I take in gardening. The greenhouse is the first thing I see each morning out my bedroom window, and I want it to looks neat and tidy, at the very least. And I got everything in place so if we get rain tonight, I’ll be able to capture two barrels’ worth.

Average temps in the greenhouse are quite balmy. The soil ranges between 45 and 55; the air ranges from 30 to 75. Outside air temps have been 25-30 overnight and up to 50 during the day. I’ve been leaving all the vents and one door wide open to prevent overheating. However, I’m going to try propping the door open halfway to try to keep the soil in the 55-65 range, so long as I can keep the air temp under 85. I also have another vent to install, which should help with that. If that doesn’t work, I’ll just keep the door open. I’d rather have the temps a little lower and more like spring than wavering between winter and summer on a daily basis.

I also managed to clean inside the house some today, and to finish up a few lingering house projects that have been nagging at me. What a huge relief. I’m starting to feel like my time is my own again – which might mean more blog posts!

4 Comments

  1. TeacherPatti said,

    March 28, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    You continue to rock.

    I can’t wait for my front yard garden making day! I hope we can get Sqwook to come over,too 🙂

  2. Leasmom said,

    March 30, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Wow, I would love a greenhouse. How wonderful.

  3. ilex said,

    April 1, 2009 at 8:31 am

    So glad you’re back! I’ve missed you! Gah, dental work sucks.

    Good luck with food allergy diagnosis process-it’s a pain in the butt, but it’s worth the journey. I had an undiagnosed food allergy for years, and once I started getting really sick, it took three years to figure it out. Turned out my trouble was wheat, finally diagnosed with an elimination diet (I didn’t test positive for celiac). But funny how, when you get the food culprit nailed down, you’re better almost instantly. May your journey be swift.

    I have just a stunning degree of greenhouse envy! Stunning, I tell you.

  4. christiang123 said,

    April 6, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    i live in mi too!


Leave a Reply

