Things I really should write about

  1. TT Supper Club Saturday night. I don’t even know where to begin. So much fun. Such fabulous food. I really, really wish you’d been there.
  2. Adventures in Food Bastardization! It started by realizing that chicken salad, cole slaw, and potato salad are more or less the same idea, with different main ingredients. (And mayo need not be primary among them…) So…why not make a salad that combines all three? It worked quite well. Started with a base of finely-shredded cabbage and carrots and a bit of raw kraut, marinated in kraut juice. Then added diced cooked chicken and potatoes, chives, chive blossoms, and sage blossoms. Dress with mustard, a little mayo, and enough kraut juice to make it salty and not gloppy. Quite nice. Though in the future, I might just do chicken/potato or chicken/cabbage.
  3. Next bastard food idea…potato/zucchini pancake + meatball?
  4. The rye field is gorgeous.
  5. My brassicas have aphids. I shall cry now.
  6. I made chicken stock in the solar oven on Friday.
  7. Soon I will begin experimenting with schmaltz. (This chicken fat kind, not the other kind.)
  8. I whined about cooking dinner all week. Then today, I made soup, meatballs, veggie pancakes, and am about to go help the boy making dinner. Well, at least I know there’ll be good stuff to eat for lunch this week!
5 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    June 7, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    The Dutch have something kinda like your bastardization (um, hi…recipe???) that uses thinly shredded steak and potatoes with mayo. It’s delicious! I’m not sure I can get behind the meatball/pancake thing, but I’ll be interested in finding out if it works out!

  2. aimee said,

    June 7, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    I don’t quite get what you were thinking when you wrote meatball/pancake… what are shared ingredients? Eggs? But vegetable fritters are a wide field for bastardization… think latkes/pakoras/tempura/middle eastern squash patties. Oh! And Indian ground bean patties! Hmmm… world to explore there. the common thread, I think, being hot fat.

    • Emily said,

      June 8, 2009 at 8:52 am

      It’s a well-known fact that certain things only make sense inside my own head. 🙂 In this case, what I was thinking is you have your main ingredient (shredded potatoes or ground meat) held together with a binder of egg and some kind of starch (breadcrumbs, flour, oatmeal, rice) and baked or fried into a compact shape.

  3. June 8, 2009 at 8:06 am

    I’m always bastardizing. It’s a good thing. I’m planning to bastardize leftover strawberries and cream from shortcakes into a strawberry-rhubarb custard pie. And bastardize grilled chicken into a pastela.

  4. Tammy Coxen said,

    June 9, 2009 at 6:46 am

    Thanks again for all your help at the Supper Club. You were amazing, and so were all the guests! So much fun. I’ve posted a summary with pictures on my blog.


Leave a Reply

