Make one thing beautiful

quiltGoing into this weekend, I was pretty tired of the eternal To-Do list. Items might change, but I never really catch up. And some items never change: clean the kitchen, weed the garden, clear off the dining room table, do the bills. Gah.

I wanted out of my rut this weekend, so I decided to ditch the to-do list and instead focus on making something beautiful. I decided to start with the front flower bed. Flats at the market are $8 – don’t need to make that offer twice! And black-eyed susans were 4/$10. And supposedly perennial, too. Sold!And as luck would have it, my favorite garden store was demoing a meat smoker by offering surprisingly large samples of smoked pork butt, homemade salsa, potato salad, and curtido. Beautiful!

Got home and started puttering, and before I knew it, I’d planted the flat of flowers – mostly in the front bed (let me just pull this grass and clover and elm seedlings out to make room), and also in the shade planter on the back deck (hmm, none of the herbs overwintered…better yank those…), and because I had a few left, I scanned the garden and planted them smack in the middle of my line of sight. That happened to be the edge of the rutabaga bed (just let me toss those last scraggly turnips that didn’t get harvested last week and hey…are those volunteer potatoes? Looks like dinner to me…). And oh, heck, why don’t I plant up this empty pot of dirt on teh deck with the last couple things from that flat? And move the rest of the junk off to the end of the deck where I don’t have to see it? I’ll put it away…later. But at least now I don’t have to look at it.

Dinner’s in the sun oven (baby potatoes and rutabagas, a couple bulb onions, brussels sprouts, and asparagus with a little schmaltz and seasoned salt), so while I’m waiting, I’ll put away this stack of cookbooks (huh, if I wipe down the coffee table, the living room will look really nice…) and take a shower. And if I wash those last couple pans, hey, the kitchen is also beautiful!

I’m glad I decided to ignore my to-do list today. Making things beautiful was much more interesting.

7 Comments

  1. MK said,

    June 20, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    I had a million people ask me about the apron today, so I gave out the newsletter and told them about Preserving Traditions. Hope it helps get the word out!

    • Emily said,

      June 20, 2009 at 8:08 pm

      Thanks!! How’d it go? It was a rough place for a canning demo…

  2. MK said,

    June 20, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    There was a ton of interest! I had a ton of fun….the only hiccup was the electric burner kept blowing fuses, so I didn’t actually finish anything there, but next time we’re going to use a dual burner outdoor patio stove:

    http://www.barbecueoutdoorgrills.com/outdoor-gas-cookers/dual-burner-outdoor-patio-stove-1178.html

    I spent the rest of today strawberry canning jam and making strawberry liqueur and freezing strawberries and if I see another berry I am going to freak out. It was a great day, though!

  3. Anonymous said,

    June 20, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    You are my beautiful sight! even if I can’t “see” you…you are my super-star…tomorrow I make my desk beautiful!!

    • Emily said,

      June 20, 2009 at 8:57 pm

      Boy, I hope you’re my mom, ‘cuz otherwise that’s kind of a creepy note… *grin*

  4. Suzie said,

    June 21, 2009 at 7:13 am

    I think you’re beautiful too. (and I’m not your mom). 🙂
    This post filled me w/lots of joy!

  5. June 22, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Excellent! Maybe I’ll have to put “make something beautiful” on the top of the next to-do list — or does that defeat the point? 😉


Leave a Reply

