Em & Laura Project Evolves –> Cooking With Laura Project

little House cookbookSo I’ve decided that this whole “cooking my way through the Little House Cookbook” project would be a lot more fun (and a lot less daunting) if it were collaborative! I want y’all to cook with me, and to blog about the recipes. I’ll keep a running list of all the posts, and maybe between all of us, we can cover the whole book! I know *someone* out there has access to a wild turkey…

This is me, so of course, I’ve made a spreadsheet. (It’s shared in GoogleDocs; you might need a free account to see it and sign up.) This lists all the recipes in the book (over 100!), the page number of the recipe, and notes about which ones I especially need help with (most often for reasons of food allergies). Feel free to add your name to the “cooks” column if you want to volunteer to take on a recipe. When you’ve finished cooking, post a link to your blog entry about it. Pictures are encouraged but not required! I’m going to start this weekend, probably with a preserving or cornbread recipe.

I’ve also noted a rough estimate of the season certain foods should be cooked. Many are listed as “any,” which means the ingredients could be had easily year-round. Other foods must be prepared at certain times of year – dried apples, for example, or fresh tomatoes with cream. There are some things that are available to us year-round, but wouldn’t have been for Laura. Use your discretion about when you’d like to prepare those.

A note about recipes: I’m not going to be able to copy out recipes for everyone who wants to participate. You’ll have to borrow or buy a copy of the book, or see if you can find the recipe online.

So, onward! Who’s in?

7 Comments

  1. TeacherPatti said,

    July 13, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Your spreadsheets are fun! I don’t really read spreadsheets well (it may have to do with the fact that I am not a visual learner, maybe?). I’d like to participate when I can!!!!

    • Emily said,

      July 14, 2009 at 11:22 am

      Patty – just pick a recipe you’d like to do and put your name in the “cook” box. 🙂 Or claim it here, and I’ll update the spreadsheet for you.

  2. Heather said,

    July 14, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Oh, how fun! I don’t know how many I’d be able to do, but I’d love to get the kiddies in on this one. I mean, dude. It has the fried apples and onions recipe. Are you KIDDING me?

  3. MK said,

    July 14, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    I’ll put in a request for it at the library!

  4. TeacherPatti said,

    July 17, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    My book arrived at the library today. I spent quite a bit of time looking at it! And I figured out the spreadsheet 🙂

  5. Kat with a K said,

    July 18, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I’m in, as soon as I figure out where my book went… It doesn’t seem to be in my bookcase of cookbooks. Bah! Maybe it’s with my Little House books?

  6. Kat with a K said,

    July 19, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I found my book, and there is in fact a wild turkey about twenty feet away from me at this very moment. But I’m a vegetarian.


Leave a Reply

