Irons in the fire

work pileJust a quick update to let you know what projects I’ve got going right now (besides the garden and, y’know, my actual job).

  • First Preserving Traditions “canning work day” at the Grange, this Sunday starting at 1pm. The water situation at the Grange is still dire, but our wonderful facilities guru is bringing large jugs of city water so we don’t have to deal with sediment from the water heater.
  • Getting interviewed by Edible WOW for their fall issue about PT.
  • Initial meetings about selling “Yes. We Can.” schwag at a local store.
  • Getting Groundcrew set up to organize the picking of feral fruit from untended trees around Ann Arbor. The perfect fruit will go to Food Gatherers; the imperfect fruit will turn into dried, canned, or sauced fruit for the pickers.
  • Planning a farm visit with Preserving Traditions to see (and perhaps help) butcher chickens.
  • Still planning to cook with Laura! In fact, I have secured a pig’s tail, bladder, and lard. I’m buying half a hog this year and I’ve been promised the…odd bits. I expect more of the Laura project will happen in the fall and winter once the pig is butchered.
3 Comments

  1. Joey said,

    July 24, 2009 at 11:05 am

    I’m really interested in the fruit harvesting! I think my homeschooling group would be interested as well, so you could have lots of kids helping out.

    Where can I get some details?

    • Emily said,

      July 24, 2009 at 6:44 pm

      I will post details here as I get them. We’re a few weeks out yet. In the meantime, you could keep your eye open for fruit trees and start asking the owners for permission to harvest the trees. Best bets are commercial land – parking lots of non-busy streets, etc.

  2. EdgeWise said,

    July 27, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I’ve been picking untended Mulberry and other local untended fruit trees for some time. I’d love to do it as a community event. Very fun!


Leave a Reply

