Bit of a break

busyHey, folks-

I’m going to be taking a bit of a blogging  break for the next couple months  due to  all the exciting projects I’m working on. This is not to say I won’t be writing at all, but I’m cutting myself some slack as far as photographing every pickle and coming up with new recipes and such.

I do intend to pick up Cooking with Laura, though it might be October before that happens. I need a winter project, after all. 🙂 But just now, I’m booked with teaching classes, Preserving Traditions, or travel 3 weekends a month through October.

Not to mention the garden – harvested 10 pounds of kale and 5 of chard Wednesday, and a steady stream of 1-2 quarts of pickles every other day. And the tomatoes are just getting ripe, and sweet corn will be coming in soon. All of this needs to be processed, and though I have much more help this year than previous years, it still needs my time and attention. Something needs to give, and so I’m letting go of the obligation to blog.

And if I know myself, releasing myself from the obligation will actually mean I’ll do more of it. 🙂

As a brief pickle update, I will say working through the Joy of Pickling is great fun. With a neat quart or two of pickling cukes coming in every couple days, we’ve tried five or six recipes so far, and are starting to branch out. Our faves so far are the Hungarian Half-Sours, but you need to add garlic, and either omit the hot pepper or take it out after a couple days. The quick summer pickles are good, too, but we used a little too much vinegar.

3 Comments

  1. TeacherPatti said,

    August 7, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I will miss you and I will miss saying, “Emily says….” whenever I do something around the house 🙂 I’m glad you are taking a break! I’ll do my cooking with Laura stuff as it gets cooler, too…I so wanted to do the blueberry pudding but I don’t have a pudding tin (my coffee comes in bags, so I can’t use an empty coffee tin either)

    • momster said,

      August 8, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Teacher Patti…I have several tins and would be glad to send you one!

  2. TeacherPatti said,

    August 11, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Momster, really? That would be super! Emily should have my contact info.
    That is way cool…I really appreciate it 🙂 Thank you.


Leave a Reply

