Pondering, like a pondery thing

I wonder if my work as a “local food advocate” would ever extend to running business operations for small food producers? Maybe I just teach “how to run a food business” classes, or maybe I run the business, they make the food, we all get paid? Would that be too much like sales and marketing? Would I care, since I believe in the food so much? Would there be enough money in it? Would this happen only when local access to food becomes far more important than cash income? Is it even possible to do this without “selling out” and only selling the best, local food to pricey restaurants while folks of more modest means get Wal-Mart factory-farmed food, or none at all?

3 Comments

  1. onestraw said,

    November 17, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    It certainly could. My advice would be to focus on growing the ideas and infrastructure – and decide if it can make money as you go. Things will begin changing fast so increasing resiliency (personal and societal) is vital – you get that though.

    For the current price dilemma, I use a sliding scale – sell local, organic, heirloom food to the foodie localvores at “organic” prices to turn a profit, and then sell the same food to normal people for prices that are about my cost to move the volume that I am able to to offset more GMO “food”. A capitalist Robin Hood? Or merely charging what the market will bear – your call its the same either way. I prefer the former.

  2. Momster said,

    November 18, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Methinks you need a lackey! Keep the economy growing by hiring someone to take over the things that you can’t do or don’t like doing, to free up time for more “ponders”….

    • Emily said,

      November 18, 2009 at 12:27 pm

      But I really like doing all the things I’m doing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

