Meat or omnivorous recipes for a month

My Vegetarian Meals for a Month is far and away the most popular page on my blog (and the Vegetarian Meals for Another Month is also in the top 10). I’ve recently had some folks asking for some of my recipes that contain meat, which I’ve been cooking a lot more often now that I’ve discovered I’m allergic to almost all legumes. So I bring you the Omnivorous Menu for a Month! Some are the omni version of recipes in the veggie menus (e.g., stir-fries) and some are completely new (cabbage roll fry-up).

These menus also include recipes for making homemade stock from chicken, pork, and beef. However, you don’t need to make your own stock to use these recipes – in several places, I’ve included “super fast and easy” directions as well as “100% homemade” directions. Take your pick!

As per usual, there’s a mix of proteins, starches, and flavor families each week. This batch of recipes is pretty winter-oriented, it being January and all…lots of kale, potatoes, and tomatoes and not a cucumber or watermelon to be seen. Enjoy!

Meat/Omni Menu for a Month (download recipes as a PDF)

  • General’s chicken
  • *Salsa fry-up
  • Dilled beets, apples, and potatoes
  • *Meatball soup
  • Cottage pie

WEEK 2

  • Ginger-garlic stir-fry
  • *Sausage, greens, and rice
  • Stovetop paella
  • Roast chicken with salt potatoes
  • *Chicken enchiladas

WEEK 3

  • Chicken stew with mashed potatoes
  • Beef and broccoli
  • Pork, apples, cabbage
  • Roasted root vegetables
  • *Homemade pizza

WEEK 4

  • Cabbage roll fry-up
  • *Pad Thai
  • Posole
  • *Something grilled with rice pilaf and veg
  • Beef barley soup

* 30 minutes or less

3 Comments

  1. Brian Sparks said,

    January 8, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    This post was very useful. Found your site looking for something totally different – but I just have to book mark it anyways.

  2. January 8, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    I can just see the new recipe book “Enchanted Lambchop Forest: How to substitute meat in vegetarian recipes…”

    Happy New Years!

    -Walter
    in Vermont

  3. gene said,

    February 8, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    hi there
    I was having trouble trying to find vegetarian meals I like and I love how you have done meals for a month. I use to spend time just thinking day to day but thinking far ahead has saved me more time long term plus i am eating better and healthier.thanks so much for putting something like this together.what a fantastic idea to get together menus for a whole month and the way you have set it all up.fantastic.thanks again.this has helped me alot.
    cheers

    gene


Leave a Reply

