Anyone want to buy an oil press?

I’m probably going to buy a hand-cranked oil press in the next couple weeks.This can make cooking oil out of almost any oil seed: sunflower, canola, soybean, peanut, etc., and you don’t have to shell the seeds or grind them first.

They are 100 Euro (about $137) including shipping, but if you buy more than one the price drops to 80 euro each ($110). Would anyone be interested in getting one on my same order and qualifying for the lower price? We’d then have to ship them domestically, but it only weighs 5 pounds so I’m thinking that would still be a reasonable savings.

12 Comments

  1. TeacherPatti said,

    February 9, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Would anyone want to go in on one? I don’t think I can justify buying a whole one for myself, but I wouldn’t mind having joint custody of one.

  2. TechSamaritan said,

    February 9, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Very tempting… but probably not this time around.

  3. Chard Lady said,

    February 9, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    Does it work for olives? If so, I may know of someone who is interested.

    • Emily said,

      February 10, 2010 at 9:40 am

      Hmm…I’ll have to check. Olives are not one of the things on the list of “oil stock.”

    • Emily said,

      February 10, 2010 at 9:51 am

      Just got the response: no, it only works for seeds and nuts.

  4. Jennifer said,

    February 11, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Emily – I might be interested. Do you need a hopper or other attachment in order to feed the seed into the press? Can you grow peanuts in MI? (in a hoop house, maybe?) Give me a call.

  5. March 1, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I would do it! You’ve got my email, Emily, so if you haven’t yet ordered, count me in and we’ll work out the details via email. This is actually something I’ve been thinking about buying and I was going to ask around for someone to go in on an order when I was ready to do it. Like minds!

  6. March 9, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Oh I’ve dreamed of one of those for sunflower seeds…but for now I feed them to the kids and chickens and buy the oil from California. I really hope you get one so I can read about it!

  7. elency said,

    May 13, 2010 at 11:55 am

    I know this was posted awhile ago . . I was curious if you purchased the press (and what you think of it) or if you have yet to purchase it and still need someone else to go in on it for additional price drops. . . either way, let me know. Best!

  8. Peace said,

    November 15, 2012 at 5:10 am

    well how is the press and where can I get one if you recomend?

    • Emily said,

      November 26, 2012 at 11:39 am

      I tried it on sunflower seed (birdseed) and flax seed. Neither produced oil. I think the sunflower seed was too old and dry, but I wasn’t able to bring the moisture content up enough to get a good result. Then we moved and the press got shelved. I’ve now loaned it to a friend; I’ll let you know if she has better luck.

  9. QFA said,

    December 9, 2012 at 9:05 am

    I am interested to go for one . you have given price but no illustration so i could see it, at least how it look like. my requirement is it should be home kitchen size and besides all other oil bearing seeds it should be able to press coconut too. Thanks
    QFA


Leave a Reply

