Root cellar progress: paneling

This represents 2 days’ work, including having to re-cut the plywood. I hate sawing. I remember my first adult-type disagreement with my mom: about the meaning of “You have your work cut out for you.” I still assert that the phrase means the hard, frustrating part of a job is over, because now all you have to do is assemble it!

That sheet of plywood on the ground goes over the blue foam insulation on the 1/2 wall. You also can’t see the paneling on the outside of the 1/2 wall, or the ceiling’s-worth of rigid insulation that’s cut to size and waiting in the garage, or the subsequent garage-tidying, all of which contributed to it taking me two evenings to hang four sheets of paneling. Next steps: hang that last sheet of plywood (ran out of time and needed pie last night…) and insulate the ceiling.

View from the inside:
Paneling

View from the outside:
Outside paneling

Lest you be thinking this is a pretty fancy bit of hardware for a root cellar, know that everything you see in this picture came from the Habitat for Humanity ReStore, and cost $53 ($40 for the door, $5 for hardware, and $8 for the paneling). Oh, I take it back – the light switch was new. *shrug*

3 Comments

  1. Suzie said,

    March 19, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Huh. I have never heard that phrase used that way. I always understood “You have your work cut out for you,” to mean that what’s left for you to do is really hard, and unavoidably and clearly yours to do and no one else’s, so suck it up & get started.

    It looks AWESOME! I feel like buying you a beet. 😀

  2. Momster said,

    March 19, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Don’t remember the disagreement! Can I buy you a leek?

    • Emily said,

      March 20, 2010 at 12:33 pm

      Well, Suzie and Momster agree. Clearly, I am a weirdo. 🙂

      And yes, all root veg are welcome!

      …and I just learned root cellars are good places to cure meat, too!


Leave a Reply

