Quick update: Planting in March

So I’ve been doing quite a lot lately, but blogging about it hasn’t been a priority…here’s the run-down:

  • The root cellar has been fully insulated, sealed, and painted. The ventilation is 1/2 done and the shelves are planned. I hope to get to those things this weekend.
  • Planting! In the greenhouse, I have kale, cabbage, broccoli (3 kinds), podding radishes, peas, and turnips (hakurei and golden globe, both salad turnips). In the garden, I have regular cooking turnips, rutabagas, onions, rhubarb, and peas and I hope to get the first batch of carrots and parsnips in this weekend.
  • Planted 3 blueberry bushes and a Meyer lemon in containers.
  • Is that it? Wow. That all felt like a lot more work when I was *doing* it… I guess I could list garden bed prep and buying 30 pounds of seed potatoes as things done.

I won’t bore you with the yet-to-do list…

1 Comment

  1. Joan Bailey said,

    April 22, 2010 at 5:40 am

    How does the blueberry bush in the container work? Meaning, how big a container, soil, light, etc? We’ve got blueberry bushes on the farm, but I’ll confess to always wanting one of my own.


Leave a Reply

