Weeping and Fruiting Cherries…on One Tree!

I’d noticed last year that my weeping cherry tree had some branches that reached for the sky instead of…weeping. And also that this is a monster tree, grown from a 6′ tall, 2″ diameter trunk to a 10″+ trunk in only about 6 years. This thing is as big as the weeping cherry tree my folks planted when I was born and had to cut down when I was 30. (Hope it doesn’t decided to drill through the foundation of the house…) I’d also thought – but decided I must’ve imagined – that this tree set fruit last year. Fruit? On an ornamental cherry tree? Not very likely…

Well, it’s unlikely, but true. Here, you can see the top half of the tree reaches up instead of trailing gracefully:
Cherry tree graft

While the “weeping” part of the tree has ruffly pink blossoms, the “fruiting” part of the tree has white flowers, and already has leaves.
Cherry blossoms on same tree

While I’d like to be able to claim my edible plant gardening prowess is such that this ornamental tree decided to bear fruit in my presence, really it’s just a bad graft job. You can see where the fruiting branch diverges from the trunk:
Graft scar on cherry tree

I’m kind of tickled, actually. The pie cherry tree I planted years ago has produced a total of 2 cherries so far. This tree reminds me of the Emily Tree that was cut down about the time I acquired this one (by moving into this house), but it also might have the fruit I want, too. (It’s easy to get on the roof; I’ll pick it from there.*) And it’s self-pollinating…two varieties on one tree.

I have freaky fruit. Yay.

*Don’t panic, Mom, it’s quite safe!

6 Comments

  1. Suzie said,

    April 12, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Cool! Ash incubator, fruit creator…

    Missed you guys today! *hugs from S & B*

  2. cookiecrumb said,

    April 13, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Fun. Hope you don’t get too many. I have four fruit trees, and I know what too many is.

  3. kum said,

    April 13, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Great blog!

    Thanks for so many vegetarian and vegan recipes.

  4. Joan Bailey said,

    April 22, 2010 at 5:37 am

    How cool! The cherries are almost done blooming here in Tokyo, but I did eat mochi recently wrapped in a pickled cherry leaf. I ate the leaf, although later I learned you don’t necessarily do that. I’ve also recently had mochi (sweet bean paste stuffed rice “balls”) wrapped in a pickled oak leaf. It was not recommended I eat the oak leaf.

  5. shayne said,

    April 24, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    mine is doing the same thing. 2 springs ago I cut off the shooting up branches and it looked better. not sure what it is doing now, have not been at my house or tree for 2 springs now.

  6. Jocelyn said,

    April 25, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    You might go up there once it’s set fruit and see how much it’s set…you might want to thin it if it’s got too much & you’re at risk for micro-cherries. And before I even got to your note about the graft I was laughing…that crown definitely has the wild n’ wooly look of a plum tree, its relative. They have an unruly growth habit.


Leave a Reply

