Garden doldrums

My two big gardening emotions right now are boredom and disappointment. Hmm, must be July…

The peas are winding down…and though I have a third (or fourth?) succession planting just starting to bloom, the deer grazed half that patch down below the growing tendril zone last night.

The squash are starting to blossom…but all the female blossoms have fallen off, baby squash and all. (I hope that’s just because they came out before the males and didn’t get pollinated.)

The cucumbers are setting fruit…and the vines are so thickly packed together I’m not sure I can extract the cukes.

The wheat and kamut have ripened and were almost dry…and got completely mowed to the ground, probably by the deer. (See a theme here?)

Everything in the greenhouse looks spindly and a little sickly. Too much shade once the trees leaf out, maybe?

The last batch of rutabagas is showing two – count ’em – sprouts.

The green beans are putting out like crazy…and it’s a bazillion degrees and I just don’t wanna go get them.

Blah. I like spring and fall gardening better. And I like planning and planting much more than maintenance, it seems.

Anyone else have this problem?

3 Comments

  1. Suzie said,

    July 15, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    >Blah. I like spring and fall gardening better. And I like planning and planting much more than maintenance, it seems.

    I think this is why Micki is retiring – she can still do planning and “planting” and we’ll help with the maintenance!

  2. Geomom said,

    July 16, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    Oh yes. It’s too darn hot when the sun is out, and when the garden is finally shaded the mosquitos start to divebomb me. And when I do get out to the garden I just get frustrated about all the things I didn’t get planted in time. I should try to focus on planting a fall garden, since it’s even getting late for that.

    Bleh is right.

  3. Blake said,

    August 5, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Eat the deer- solves two problems at once.


Leave a Reply

