Wishes

Just thought I’d throw out a few “wish list” items for the Universe to hear about. After all, Santa doesn’t know what to bring if you don’t whisper to an elf!

  • I’d love to connect with someone who would like to “can for shares.” I grow a bunch of veggies, they can it, and we split the take.
  • In the opposite scenario to the above…I’d love to have  a neighbor with a milk goat…you give me milk, I make cheese and keep a share of it. Or maybe just access to a local goat dairy, with milk under $10/gallon.
  • I’d love to swap produce, extra bulk grains, or that Victorio strainer I never use for home-canned peaches.
  • I’d love to find someone interested in taking over a few Preserving Traditions events – not just teaching, but making events happen to such a degree that I wouldn’t have to be at every single one. Then PT could offer more events each year and maybe I could not overdo it next August and September.
  • I’d like to learn to make fresh and dried sausages.
  • I’d like to find a hardy avocado tree in my yard. (I know, I know, I might as well wish for bananas…but a girl can dream!)

Elves encouraged to reply to preservetrad@gmail.com 🙂

7 Comments

  1. EdgeWiseInAnnArbor said,

    October 5, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Especially as the winter wears on, we should definitely arrange a preserved food swap. If we’re sick of pesto, but all out of green beans, I’m sure there’s someone who’d be thrilled to flip them.

    Is there a dairy-only CSA around? I would love to get local milk and make my own cheese.

    You can have an avocado or fig tree in a container, and just store it in your garage in the winter. See here:
    http://livingthefrugallife.blogspot.com/2010/04/food-production-in-small-spaces-fig.html

    I got as far as buying the container this year, but maybe next year!

    • Emily said,

      October 5, 2010 at 10:45 am

      I believe there will be a canned good exchange at the Grange holiday party in early December!

  2. EdgeWiseInAnnArbor said,

    October 7, 2010 at 8:55 am

    That’s very cool. Canned goods only or also frozen? We’re rich in pesto, etc., but poor in canned items. With the little ones underfoot, it’s just hard to find that big of a chunk of time.
    -Steve

  3. Sharon said,

    October 9, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I’d love to work with someone on a can for shares basis. For example, this year my tomato harvest is pitiful. I’ve only been able to can half of what I need. Wouldn’t it be cool to find someone with a bountiful tomatoes this year who would want to share! As it is I think I’m going to have to buy, if I can find any.

    And avacado trees… yep I’m with you on that too.

  4. Jeanne Horvath said,

    October 11, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I can although I did not get a lot done this year. I have not been to a Preserving Traditions event but I would be interested in helping next year and in canning some of your extra as a swap m

  5. Anadrol said,

    December 3, 2010 at 6:18 am

    Love your blog and good luck with your wishes.


Leave a Reply

