New favorite soup: Mulligatawny

I first had mulligatawny soup a month or two ago at Taste of India. I was, at first, confused because I was thinking “mulligan stew” not “mulligatawny soup,” but once I tasted it, I didn’t much care what it was called. It’s creamy, but non-dairy, flavorful and very satisfying.  Here’s what I cobbled together at home…not sure how authentic it is, but whatever. Mulligatawny is a made-up soup, anyway – the Brits insisted on a soup course from their Indian cooks, who came up with this because apparently Indian food wasn’t delicious enough. Whatever.

Em’s quick and dirty mulligatawny soup recipe

  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup leftover dal
  • 1 cup tiny mixed vegetables (corn, peas, etc.)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Put in pot. Make it warm. Eat it up, yum.

Mulligatawny

10 Comments

  1. October 31, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Must be soup day all over.

  2. Suzie said,

    October 31, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Yes please!

    Hello o eating-close-to-home one! *hugs for a Sunday*

  3. kate said,

    November 1, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    We just discovered a slow-cooker mulligatawny recipe – we’re making it for the second time tomorrow, as a matter of fact. it’s more complicated than your version, for sure, but i’m sure we’ll give yours a spin soon, too. 🙂

    • Emily said,

      November 1, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      You people eat more complicated food than anyone I know of. I have no idea how you manage it with ze bebe and all! Makes me feel like a total slacker.

  4. shortystylee said,

    November 1, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Do you think you’d be able to use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock? The only Mulligatawny soup I’ve ever had in restaurants had shredded chicken in it.

    Jessica

    • Emily said,

      November 2, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Sure, why not? I really like the Better than Bouillon veg stock, but homemade would be good, too.

    • Jocelyn said,

      November 14, 2010 at 1:42 pm

      Yes, vegetarian mulligatawny is possible! I encountered many such versions of it while living in NYC in the early 90s…it was only later that I came upon the meaty versions.

  5. Suzie said,

    November 6, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Appropos of NOTHING related to this post but so funny I felt compelled to share it:

    One new gardener’s conversations with tomato plants
    http://thefourthvine.livejournal.com/139821.html

    • Emily said,

      November 6, 2010 at 9:30 pm

      Oh dear cod…that’s FABULOUS! “We’re building tomato infrastructure!“

  6. Suzie said,

    November 7, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    *sings VERY loudly*
    “I believe I can fly! I believe I can touch the sky!”


Leave a Reply

