Homemade sausage recipes 1 & 2

I’ve been wanting to spice my own sausage (especially turkey sausage) for a while, and when I found ground turkey thighs at Whole Foods, I decided to finally give it a go.  Here are my results so far:

Sweet Fennel Sausage recipe

  • 1 lb ground turkey thighs – you want to have some fat in there, so don’t use breast or extra-lean thighs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds, crushed
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Mix well and use as you would any bulk sausage.  I also tried adding sage to this (home-grown and dried, very potent) and it was…odd.  It mostly negated the fennel flavor and the predominant flavor became “sweet,” with faint grassy undertones.  I’ll have to work on that; I love sage sausage.  I’m thinking subbing sage for the fennel and seeing how that goes.

Hot Italian-style Sausage recipe

  • 1 lb ground turkey thighs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

This was a bit too hot for us, but YMMV depending on the heat of your peppers and the preferences of your family.  I also tried this without the garlic powder and with smoked paprika, but the recipe listed above was by far the best.  The paprika tasted too much like paprika and not enough like smoke.  Perhaps ground chipotle peppers would give me the hot/smoky effect I’m looking for.

Leave a Reply

