WHOC Caroling!

carolersI want to go Winter Holiday of Choice (WHOC) Caroling next year! But first, I need to figure out what to sing.  I invoke the creative power of you, my muliticultural readership!  What songs would be fun (and easy…) to sing and appropriate for various holidays that happen mid-winter?  Are there Kwanzaa Carols?  Hanukkah Hymns? Solstice Songs? Atheist Anthems?  I figure we can go from house to house, and wear buttons with “Ask me for a solstice song!” or even “Ask for our hit favorite, ‘Shut up and get off my porch you hippie freak (Silent Night reprise)’.”  Let’s see…categories:

  • Christmas, with Jesus in
  • Olde Tyme Christmas (Victorian carols?)
  • Yule
  • Santamas/generic winter (sans Jesus)
  • Solstice
  • Kwanzaa
  • Hanukkah
  • Are there any Muslim holidays this time of year?
  • Just silly, no holiday involved (I’m thinking “After the Ball“)

Sound clips and/or lyrics would be magnificent. C’mon, you don’t really want to *work* today, do you?

(Also…who’s going with me?)

4 Comments

  1. Suzie said,

    December 22, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    For well-written lyrics, I like the first verse of ‘O Little Town of Bethlehem’.
    (Actually, in our household, we sing Bob-lihem, but, you know, if you’re sans Bobs, Bethlehem will do.)

    O little town of Bethlehem, how still we see thee lie. Above thy deep and dreamless sleep, the silent stars go by. Yet in thy dark streets shineth the everlasting light; the hopes and fears of all the years
    are met in thee tonight.

    I’ll add more $winterholiday favorites as I think of them!

  2. kate said,

    December 22, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    There is of course the traditional Dreidel song (aka “The Ladle Song” to my goddaughter, bless her – “ladle, ladle, ladle, I put you in my stew, ladle ladle ladle, I eat right off of you – hey!”), and Barenaked Ladies has a really nice Hannukah song….Hannukah Blessings. (It’s from the same album as the Elf’s Lament.)

    I *think* that all Muslim holidays rotate throughout the year.

  3. Cynthia said,

    December 23, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    I really like the Huron Carol, or “Twas in the Moon of Winter Time”. http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/t/i/tistmowt.htm. It’s considered Canada’s first hymn, I don’t think it’s too hard to learn. Has lots of images of nature.. this time of year Similarly, the Holly and the Ivy is another favorite http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57l6dSbVppM&feature=related

  4. varmentrout said,

    December 26, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Yes, Islam uses the lunar calendar, not the solar calendar, so the holidays slowly move through the calendar year.

    Some of the old English carols like “The Holly and the Ivy” and “Deck the Halls” refer to Druid solstice practices, don’t they?


Leave a Reply

