New (old) jelly cupboard

Ok, I’m perhaps inordinately excited about this Craig’s List find, but I’m so geeked!  Not only do I have a convenient place in the kitchen to hold my entire pantry’s worth of canned goods (home and commercial), but it’s gorgeous.  Don’t know the exact build date, but it’s over 100 years old and not a piece of junk at all.  I think this qualifies as my first bona fide antique, as opposed to “something old someone else is getting rid of but I have lower standards.” (Click to enlarge)

Jelly cupboard Jelly cupboard

Items are grouped by “family”: jam, fruit, veg, beans, soup, etc.  There’s even a corner reserved for “gifts.”  Space between groups lets me see an entire column of cans so I don’t have to pull everything out to see what the variety of beans in the back is.  I’m contemplating snazzy paper labels for each section of shelves, just ‘cuz.

I’m going to smile every time I walk past it.  No more running to the basement for a can of beans! No more wondering which cupboard the tuna is in! It’s all in this cabinet!  And so pretty, and it just makes me smile to know that a hundred years ago, some woman canned up a storm and stored a winter’s worth of groceries in this pantry…and now, a hundred years later, so will I.

3 Comments

  1. January 6, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Cool find! My mother loves “primitives” – the simple, functional antiques that are found mostly on the east coast – and long ago furnished their home with them. I grew up around them of course, and appreciate the aesthetic. She wants to leave them all to me, including a massive jelly cupboard. I don’t know what I’ll do when she dies though, since we’ve pretty well furnished our home already. I’d hate to think of resorting to CL to distribute such sturdy pieces, but it’s nice to think of people like you who would really appreciate them.

  2. Cynthia said,

    January 9, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    LOVE IT! I’ll have to look at craigslist more often.

  3. varmentrout said,

    January 12, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Looks like my kind of furniture. Of course, my furniture is even more antique than when I bought it.

    I have a jelly cabinet too (glass front) but I perversely keep dishes in it. My stuff came mostly from Wisconsin but I think a lot of it was originally made in Grand Rapids. That was a center for cheap oak furniture back around the turn of the last century.


Leave a Reply

