Moving toward local eating: Tropical blindness

Choosing vegetablesPart of the “Moving toward local eating” series

At some point, I got so used to buying things that are produced nearby, I forgot that things like bananas and avocados even exist.  Ok, maybe I never forgot about avocados, but there are lots of things that I quit buying because they are shipped from too far away and then found I didn’t miss them too much.

Mostly, I count this as a mercy.  Though I would occasionally find myself in the middle of February feeling run-down and seriously bored with my food.  I’d be standing in the middle of piles of fruit and greens and other goodies thinking “there’s nothing here to eat” because I just glossed over anything that didn’t have  “local” tag on it.  When I got to that point, I sort of had to shake myself awake and remember not to sacrifice my health for the sake of food miles.

And then when I was thinking clearly again, I’d start plotting how to get what I need locally.  Which is tomorrow’s installment…

3 Comments

  1. Lisa Bashert said,

    February 4, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Emily, I know what you mean and I am *there* now. I’ve been buying organic bananas from the Food Coop and I am mortified to realize that they are Dole Organic. Ugh. But I feel as though I need potassium right now and lots of it. I share you pain, sister, but when I look at those tags saying Chile, I think “pesticides,” and I lose my appetite.

    • Emily said,

      February 4, 2011 at 11:33 am

      Well, there’s always blackstrap molasses for potassium…

  2. Cloud said,

    December 31, 2011 at 12:22 am

    There’s always the lovely Potato for potassium. 🙂 My favorite.


Leave a Reply

