Chicken stock

Chicken Stock

2 stewing hens, 2 chicken carcasses, one turkey back and wings, 4 onions, 2 bulbs garlic, and 3 fresh bay leaves

Aaaaaaand…the canning of meat continues. This pot contains all the bird parts I’ve been chucking in the freezer all year, including some purpose-purchased (stewing hens, turkey back) and some leftovers from roasters. Browned the birds, covered them with four GALLONS of water, added onions, garlic, bay, and salt, and set it to simmer for a little over four hours.

Just tasted the broth and…damn. Or DAY-um. So, so good.

Having lunch now and then will pick the meat off the bones (no trick; it’s falling right off) and then will can the vast majority of it. I usually can the meat and broth separately, because usually when I want broth, I don’t want meat.

5 gallons chicken stock

The Big Pot

I had to buy more canning jars, but I think I might finally have a batch of stock that’s “big enough.” It makes me so sad when there’s only a quart or two of stock made in a batch. Guess maybe I should haul out the Big Pot more often!

5 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    March 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    So funny Emily…I am reducing chicken stock as I write this for a lovely (I hope) consomme for some dinner guests this evening. Smells heavenly! Simple pleasures are the best!

  2. Monica said,

    March 26, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Yum! This post has raised many questions for me. Mainly: where did you get that awesome pot??? The hardest part about broth for me is straining it with my incredibly small strainer. The bottom of your pot seems to have my solution!

    Also: do you compost what’s left (i.e., mushy veggies) when you’re done? you probably don’t have to wait for the stock to cool if you’re canning, right? (i usually freeze in plastic so the cooler the better.) for stock, do you pressure can or water bath can?

    • Emily said,

      March 26, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      Monica-

      I got the pot from my mom, who found it on deep discount somewhere. (Great deals seek her out, I swear!) It’s a good thing it has that spout; I can’t lift the thing when it’s full!

      ALWAYS pressure-can anything with meat, including stock. I usually throw the bones and such out for the critters in the back 40.

  3. Matriarchy said,

    March 27, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    I love that big stock pot with the spigot! I have a big stock pot, but I have to dip out the stock and fill jars with a strainer and funnel.

  4. Cynthia said,

    April 4, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    Love that pot!


Leave a Reply

