Spring chores

Yesterday was a gift.  The one day of the week when we had a break in the “45 and spitting rain” weather pattern, and I was working from home.  And my apple trees were delivered.  The message could not be more clear if Pomona had sent me a postcard saying “PLANT TODAY!”

It’s been hard getting everything done this spring.  Not sure if it’s worse than usual, but a lot of unfinished projects have been hanging over me: the orchard bed on the north side of the garage, the new permaculture guild to be sheet mulched, and now it looks like the weeds are taking over the storage garden to such a degree that I really need to box it in with raised beds.  And I’m going out of town for ten days in early May, and though my sweetie will help with stuff if I’m there to direct, it would be cruel to ask him to do it while I’m gone.  So there’s a bit of time pressure to get it all done before I go…and a bit of “don’t wanna” pressure when Saturday mornings dawn cold and drizzly.

So yesterday, between not having to commute and taking a “coffee” break in the afternoon, I was able to:

  • Plant about 2/3 of the hundred daffodil bulbs I bought in the fall and never got around to
  • Plant 25 of the 75 raspberry plants that have been languishing in the breezeway since mid-March
  • Plant 3 bush cherries that have been waiting nearly that long
  • Plant 5 apple trees and a peach tree that arrived yesterday afternoon
  • Plant onions and ramps

There’s still a lot to do, but having three solid hours of sunshine and warmish temps let me make such a big dent in the spring list, it was a huge relief.

For about two hours; then I started thinking about everything ELSE that needs doing. *sigh* Maybe I need to take vacation days to garden in April as much as I need to take them in September to can…

5 Comments

  1. April 22, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Dang! I thought my spring planting was out of control. That list makes me look like I’ve been sitting around eating bonbons. April is always a big month, but actually this year has been fairly manageable – so far. We’ve put in 25 more asparagus crowns, one apple, one willow, lots of perennial herbs, and potted up a peashrub and two small hazels. Still to come are the potatoes, more perennial herbs, golden raspberries, ramps, and onions, and possibly digging up more wild elders and stinging nettles to transplant. Spring over the last four years has been an absolute killer. I think the workload is getting a bit lighter though. For what it’s worth, garden-time vacation in April and October is a fixture on my husband’s yearly calendar.

    • Emily said,

      April 25, 2011 at 10:09 am

      Well, I always think I’m a slug compared to you when I read your blog. 🙂
      Seeing the difference in prep time for raised beds vs. “unbound” beds has me convinced they are worth the cost and effort to set up – which I hope will help alleviate the killer spring chores syndrome. And I find them pleasant to look at – a little order among the chaos to soothe the soul. Permaculture raves about keyholes and curves, but all I can think is “I need to pull quackgrass and creeping charlie out of every foot of edge!” Raised beds, now – I can “weed” those in 6 minutes by pulling the sod away from the wood with a digging fork.

  2. Geomom said,

    April 24, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    It was beautiful Thursday. My kids spent the day bird-watching and catching frogs while I shoveled mulch and new topsoil. I think I’ve been spending too much time digging–I keep getting repetetive-stress type injuries in my wrists and shoulders. I’ve been re-vamping garden beds, and only finally planted potatoes and peas yesterday and Thursday. Felt good to plant something!

  3. Geomom said,

    April 24, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Oh–and my taking a lot of time off in April was mostly a bust–seemed like it rained or snowed most of the days I was home. But it was nice anyways. And it’s always good to stare at your garden a lot and dream.

    • Emily said,

      April 25, 2011 at 10:04 am

      Oh, bother. 😦 But I’m sure the actual rest was good, too!


Leave a Reply

