Tattler reusable canning jar lid review

Tattler reusable canning lids

How can you tell if Tattler reusable canning jar lids are sealed? If you look at the lids from an angle, the horizontal line (the cross of the T in Tattler) looks curved on sealed jars, because the center is sunk in a little deeper. But better yet: remove band and push the lid gently sideways to check seal before storage. Above: The jar on the left is sealed; the one on the right is not.

Last year, I bought a couple boxes of Tattler reusable canning jar lids. After over a season of use, my experience is:

  • They fail to seal more often than disposable lids, especially when pressure canning and perhaps especially with wide-mouth lids.  Two or three no-seals per canner load are not uncommon, though I have had “perfect” water bath canner loads.
  • You need to pay more attention to the tightness of the band to get a good seal (hint: re-tighten the band when you take the jars out of the canner).
  • It’s a little harder to tell if the jars have sealed, so be sure to take the bands off and check your seals before storage.
  • When they do seal, they seal well.
  • They are very easy to wash and re-use, which saves a lot of waste.
  • They are wonderful for very acidic foods like pickles, because the lids can’t rust.

Overall, I will continue to use them, especially for water bath canning acidic foods.  I probably won’t use them for pressure canning unless I’m out of disposable lids, just because the failure rate annoys me.  If anyone has tips on how to improve my success rate, please comment!

If you are just learning to can, I suggest you start with the regular disposable metal lids.  No sense getting frustrated by equipment right off the bat!

This experiment also taught me something very important: I hate canned green beans! I’ve had several people lately tell me they are far better than frozen green beans, but I guess since I grew up on frozen, there’s no going over to canned at this point.  I would truly rather not eat any green beans than eat them canned.  And since three of my ten jars in this batch didn’t seal, it’ll make the composting all that much easier…

12 Comments

  1. July 25, 2011 at 4:41 am

    I’ve only used the Tattler’s for BWB canning but have never had a failure yet. Note that I don’t do the retightening thing because I didn’t read the instructions to loosen them. All in all, I only use Tattlers on jars I won’t ever give away, because they are expensive. I haven’t yet tried to reuse them but plan on doing so when I can pickles shortly.

    I like canned green beans better than frozen, but roasted frozen ones are the best.

  2. July 25, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I just used Tattler lids for the first time, and my beef with them is minor, but something that I should have foreseen, because it’s completely obvious: I can’t pick them up with my magnetic wand lifter. This makes fishing them out of the hot water just as difficult as life was with the metal lids before I bought the magnetic lifter. But I can suck it up.

    I did a mixed batch of Tattlers and conventional, because I figure on giving some of the jam away to non-canners. All the Tattlers sealed up fine (regular mouth, bwb method).

    • Emily said,

      July 25, 2011 at 3:08 pm

      Shoot, you know…I forgot to heat the lids (I just did the gaskets) in this last batch. Wonder if that was my mistake? I’m with you on the jar lifter issue…should’ve seen that coming! It’s not a huge deal but it did require a change in my methods. I just use a fork to pry the lid/gasket out of the water.

  3. July 26, 2011 at 6:27 am

    The tattler lids are not yet approved by the USDA and I am kind of a stickler to that. The ad is misleading when it says it is approved – only the materials used are USDA approved, which only means it is food grade. I am sticking by my disposables – at $1 per dozen, it isn’t worth the risk, yet!

    • Emily said,

      July 26, 2011 at 8:11 am

      Wow, $1/dozen…lucky you! Ours have gone from $1.29/doz to well over $2/doz in the last couple years.

    • Lee said,

      September 12, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      Are you certain the $1 per dozen lids you buy are USDA approved? I don’t recall ever seeing that printed on any Ball or Kerr product.

  4. Peggy Backlund said,

    August 18, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Using the tattler lids is like using the old glass tops with rings. The rings have to be put in hot water to soften up before use.
    The test for a seal with the old glass lids was to put the processed jar on it’s side and very gently apply pressure between the ring and lid with a knife edge. If the seal wasn’t good you would see air enter the jar (bubbles) and the lid would fall off.

    For disposeable lids, Walmart had them for 76 cents a dozen.

  5. SuAnn said,

    September 26, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    I used Tattler lids with peaches and pears and they sealed up just fine. But, now that I am starting to open them up and enjoy them . . . I am finding that the fruit smells and tastes somewhat rubbery . . . YUCK! I am so disappointed. Thankfully, I didnt use too many this year.

  6. Kelly said,

    January 9, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    Has anyone used the tattler lids for canning venison? I just did one canner load (first time with the tattlers) and two didnt seal. I think that I did not have the one seal on properly and the other one didnt seal because I didnt notice the small lid stuck inside the big lid! I noticed after I discovered the unsealed jar.

    • Emily said,

      January 10, 2013 at 4:53 pm

      I have used them for pressure canning meat, and find it’s common to have one or two that don’t seal. Be sure to take the jars out as soon as the pressure lock drops, then tighten the bands a couple times as the jars cool. Also be very sure there’s no grease on the rims before putting your gaskets and lids on.

      • Kelly said,

        January 14, 2013 at 8:33 am

        Thank You Emily- I used your advice and the second canner load was a 100% success! Thank You very much


Leave a Reply

