How I deal with zucchini glut

Pink banana squash

Soon, we will not be able to park the car.

My approach is simple: I don’t grow zucchini. Instead, I grow winter squashes and if I crave a “summer” squash, I just pick an immature butternut, pink banana, or long pie pumpkin.  I’m never scrambling for things to do with squash before they get gigantic (I’m loving the term “sasquash”) because I can just let the big ones go and harvest them in the fall for winter eating.

Eating one vegetable at different stages, rather than planting multiple vegetables, is one technique I use to keep my yields up and my gardening time down.

1 Comment

  1. August 1, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    My sweet potatoes look sort of like this. I tried growing Hubbard squash last year. It went half way around the house! Unfortunately, the squash bugs went berzerk over that.


Leave a Reply

