Grain and root CSA

Hi folks – Wanted southern Michigan folks to know that there’s a new root and grain CSA starting up: Stone Soup CSA. The food will be grown organically by a cooperative of Amish farmers near Homer (Shettlers, who sell at the A2 farmers market are one of the families).

The CSA will include:

  • wheat berries – 60 pounds
  • oat groats – 24 pounds
  • rye berries – 24 pounds
  • corn (dried) – 12 pounds
  • onions – 30 pounds
  • potatoes – 30 pounds
  • carrots – 30 pounds
  • popcorn – 12 pounds

I don’t know the specific varieties, but all will be “good keepers.”

My spin on this: I would like to organize the use of grain mills for members. I have two mills, and am hoping others would be willing to bring theirs, to a central location (probably the Pittsfield Grange) on pick-up days to mill grains into flour. So don’t let your lack of a grain mill impede keep you from getting in on this winter staple CSA! If there is interest, I might also pick up an oat roller (to turn groats into oatmeal).

Please let me know in thecomments if you are interested, if you can bring a grain mill or roller/flaker, and what you’re interested in milling.

I imagine on pick-up day, we could also arrange swaps of popcorn for wheat, onions for corn, etc.

Please note: I AM NOT ORGANIZING THE CSA. I’m just organizing grinding for members. Contact Shana at http://www.localharvest.org/stone-stoup-grains-and-roots-csa-M49390 for information and sign-up.

9 Comments

  1. EdgeWiseInAnnArbor said,

    February 2, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    I’m not sure what a personal mill can do to raw grains.

    I do use cracked wheat a fair amount. Can a personal mill crush wheat berries into cracked wheat?

    I also bake bread and make hot cereal with Cracked wheat, rye chops, corn grits, rolled oats. (along with whole flax seeds, millet, and barley)

    Can a personal mill turn rye berries into rye chops and corn into grits?

    I can actually use corn meal (or finely ground corn flour), but oddly I have less use for other finely ground grains like whole wheat flour or rye flour. For baking those, I want consistent falling numbers made from a blend of different growing conditions or species. My impression is that personally milled wheat would be closer to graham flour.

    Pretty interesting. I might sign up just for the root vegetables.

    • Emily said,

      February 2, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      I use my mill to make flour from wheat berries. Like you say, it’s more like graham flour, in that it has all the bran and germ in it. One pass makes it appear to have wheat bran in it; two passes and it’s similar to store-bought whole wheat. You are very particular about your flour, so you might not be happy with it, though.

      My day-to-day mill doesn’t do a great job cracking grains (it makes them too fine) but my “backup” mill does a great job with coarse grinds. I don’t know what “rye chops” are, but if it’s like cracked wheat, then yes, it’ll do that. Coarse cornmeal, too.

      A flaker or roller is needed to make flakes of oats (oatmeal), rye, wheat, etc. I don’t have one, but if there is interest, Preserving Traditions would buy one for group use.

  2. Cynthia said,

    February 4, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Hi – Shana is an old friend of mine….I just emailed her to see if I could just take part in the root vegetables. 60 lb of wheat berries is more than I’d eat in a lifetime! I can already buy wonderful locally made flours so I am not really interested in the grains part of this equation.

    • Emily said,

      February 4, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      I think a lot of people want just the roots: gluten free, no grain mill, prefer buying flour as needed, don’t need 12 lb of popcorn. I know someone else was looking into a food preservation CSA, too, and I’d love to see that get off the ground. Tomatoes, cucumbers, kraut and storage cabbage, potatoes, etc.

  3. angela said,

    February 10, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    i am only wanting root vege and corn and some of the grains. have sent out emails to our csa members but no one is interested in the bulk idea. we are members of co-op too so grains are easy to access. has shana or you talked to the co-op to see if they would buy some of the grains that csa members of stone soup would not use? you mentioned trading-bartering with others but it seems most are like minded with grains. could use to make animal feed anyone know how to mill that? we always have a lot of greens to trade may-oct. we could trade our chicks (live) and maybe some chicken meat and some live rabbits for breed stock or meat.? if you organize this further let me know.xxoo

    • Emily said,

      February 10, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      I have a hand mill that makes good, coarse cracked grain. Let’s you and I plan on me giving your cracked grain for meat and/or eggs. Beyond that, I’m not sure anything is wanting to be organized, at this point.

  4. Anonymous said,

    February 11, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Breaking news! A lot of people have been asking about a root vegetables only option so the Stone Soup farmers are reconsidering. If you are interested, please contact me via the Local Harvest link in the post. The farmers are currently seeking feedback on what configuration of vegetables to offer.

    – Shana Milkie

  5. Arika said,

    April 29, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    I signed up for this CSA and I’d love to be able to borrow the use of a grain mill! I could even pay a bit for it- I don’t own one myself yet! 🙂

    • Emily said,

      April 30, 2012 at 8:33 am

      Let’s be in touch by e-mail when the delivery first comes in!


Leave a Reply

